We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair choice”
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fair choice”
Reviewed 15 August 2007

The Tabard Inn has friendly staff, a good location, wireless internet throughout the hotel (our room was on the first floor) and a relationship with the YMCA around the corner with nice work out facilities.

The matresses leave a little to be desired and the price tag is a bit high for the 'ambience' of the hotel.

If you want to be in this area and the hotels are running high in price this might be a good option, but it is nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank velureroholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    101
    47
    34
    18
See reviews for
49
91
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
niftyc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Great music scene in the living room area. I saw a senator. Delicious
restaruant. Good breakfast included. Interesting decorations. Knowledgeable, friendly staff members.

I have stayed here several times in rooms of all prices. The smallest
rooms are quite small but they are also reasonably priced. I did not mind sharing a bathroom. The largest rooms are absolutely spellbinding. Large, with inspired decorating and interesting personal touches.

I always stay here in Washington DC but rooms here are often hard to come by. Book well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank niftyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olema
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

A friend told me about the Tabard and when I travel to DC (which I do about twice per year) it is one of the highlights of the trip. Great location, good prices, breakfast included and the option of dining on site in one of the best restaurants around. The place draws a great crowd and I have spent many an evening in the lounge sipping wine and pretending to read while listening to the great conversations around me. The place has wireless internet to boot! The staff is low key and friendly. The rooms are clean and pleasant with great accents and wonderful colors. I have recommended this place to many people. In fact several folks who were in DC for the same event stayed here and it was fun to all hang out. I'll be back and I'll stay here again. I don't mind climbing the stairs to a comfy room. A great hotel with the feeling of a B&B.

  • Liked — Great old building with lots of character.
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bearvinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

Myself and three friends stayed at the Tabard Inn for two nights and fell in love with it straight away.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful.

The location is convenient and quiet and the restaurant fantastic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will be urging anyone who visits Washington to get a room there.

  • Liked — The fantastic decor
  • Disliked — No TV in bedroom
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

I recently spent an evening at the Tabard Inn. The Inn is wonderful - eclectic, the staff is great, and the location is unbeatable.

We started the evening with cocktails in the lounge with the fireplace, followed by dinner at the Tabard itself. The food was great - about $160 for 2 people, with wine, taxes and tip included. At about mid-night, we headed out for a night on the town - many cool places are within a short walk or cab ride from the Inn.

The room was fine - albeit a bit small. But, it was clean and had a nice view.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank img1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The South
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

Having stayed in hotels of every class and location in Washington DC, I can say without reservation this is my favorite--at least for its romance, charm, location, and fantastic food. If you're looking for a standard American hotel experience--giant sterile rooms with a TV, clock radio, etc.--this is not for you. If you want a more European-style experience, complete with shared bathrooms (for the cheaper rooms), a working fireplace in the ultra-Victorian lounge, and friendly but often otherwise-occupied staff, this is the place for you. It also has free Internet and is located within a very short walk from the DuPont Circle Metro station, which puts you in the heart of the action. The restaurant is phenomenal--and a real breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank professorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tabard Inn to see all the sights of Washington. Our friends recommended the Tabard. I typically stay at Marriotts and the like but I thought I would give it a try. What a delight, set a on a quaint tree lined street off of the Dupont Circle area the hotel has the feel of an Inn in old Europe. From the moment we checked in we were treated warmly and graciously by a great eager staff. The room was absolutely charming, filled with antiques and amazing, creative touches. The bed was quite comfortable and the room quiet and peaceful.

The restaurant is quite good with lots of inventive takes on traditional dishes. Be sure to spend some time at the Bar as well, Mark (the bartender) is a great source of things to do in the city and is a real card that will be sure to make you smile before you retire for the evening.

Be warned, the rooms do not have TV’s. However, we were so busy we not notice them and it was nice to be away from the all the news, even though we were staying were lots of the news breaks.

We will definitely return to Tabard soon.

  • Liked — Old World Charm
  • Tips/Secrets — Say hi to Mark, (the Bartender) he has a great wit and can help you with things to do in town.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GoFalcons100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#115 of 141 in Washington DC
120 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
360 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
49 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising a trio of late-1800s townhouses, this traditionally furnished hotel is a 6-minute walk from the Metro and 1 mile from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The elegant, antiques-filled rooms are individually decorated, and provide free Wi-Fi. Some have private bathrooms or sitting areas. Rooms are stair-access only. Continental breakfast is included, as is access to a nearby gym. There's also a bar and lounge with occasional live jazz, plus a New American restaurant with a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing