We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It was just a short getaway, but from the outset we were made to feel very welcome. Check in staff were courteous, processed us quickly and advised us about our included breakfast as an IHG Rewards Club perk. This is a heritage hotel, and proudly stands with several in this city, but to its credit it saves the stuffiness for the others. The room felt like a true guestroom, clean and neatly decorated, with a huge flat screen TV, an empty fridge, a coffee maker and excellent blackout curtains. Bathroom was spotless, and the amenities were in keeping with this level of hotel. The air con was unusually loud, though it was a constant hum so did not disturb our sleep. There was some noise from the corridor, but I attribute this to our proximity to the elevator.

The hotel bar is trendy and serves tasty appetizers and cheap beer and wine during the extended happy hour, so avail of these. You can sit inside or out, with the terrace tables overlooking McPherson Square. We misunderstood the check-in staff advice that we were entitled to a free appetizer (rather they must have been letting us know about happy hour), though at $7 a plate, that certainly doesn't break the bank. And Sunday breakfast more than made up for it. A delicious spread served in a relaxed atmosphere.

It does need mentioning that most DC hotels charge a high price for parking (with valet the only option), and this hotel is no exception. That is unfortunately the market. However, while very courteous, this valet service did seem unusually slow. They do advise you to call for your car 20 minutes in advance and that seemed about the minimum. So, if you're in a hurry, don't leave it until just before you check out.

On weekends, DC lets its hair down, and hotels let their prices follow. This place was perfect for our weekend getaway, within walking distance of where we wanted to be and a restful oasis amidst unpretentious, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederickoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Frederickoz,

We always love to read such a detailed review. It truly lets us know that we were able to make a great impression while you were staying with us. Isn't that happy hour wonderful? If you stayed with us prior to the week following the July 4th you will have to come back soon to see all the wonderful specialty drinks our food and beverage team has created to go with those tasty appetizers during happy hour.

We all look forward to having you as our guest again in the very near future and of course thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    873
    268
    100
    63
See reviews for
467
538
102
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is the second time I stay at this hotel. This is a consistently great hotel. Rooms are very nice, clean w/ good amenities. The location is great:
1. It is in the downtown near the White House. An easy walk to the National Mall.
2. There is a Metro station two blocks away.
3. Walking distance to the Washington Convention Center.
4. Located across Franklin Park. A pleasant little park, visible from the outdoor seating of the restaurant/lounge. Also a good landmark on city maps.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear berged,

Oh how lucky we are to have so many wonderful and historic sights so closer to our hotel. And not only do we have the one Metro stop right down the street on 14th & I St. that connects right to Reagan National Airport we also have the Circulator bus stop in front of the hotel that go to Union Station, Georgetown and the National Zoo!

We hope that you are looking forward to your third visit as much as we are and thank you for the great review.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Although I did not actually stay at this hotel, based in my recent interaction with Louis, the Concierge, I will be staying here the next time I am in Washington DC.
I called the concierge desk looking for a special amenity for a friend who was staying at the hotel. I had very specific items in mind and Louis, without skipping a beat told me that the hotel did not stock the amenity I wanted to send, but he would personally go to Whole Foods and purchase what I requested and insure the items would be placed in the room for my friends arrival. This hotel has done a great job in hiring Louis and practicing hospitality. I can't wait to stay here.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Lois G,

We are quite lucky to have such a talented concierge on our team. Louis and all of our concierge staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the area and always going above on beyond for our guests.

We will certainly share your comments with Louis and our entire team so that we can show how much of an impact one person can have on our guests or in your case a future guest. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

One of those historic hotels we a hip twist that makes it my preferred home away from home when I go to DC. Straight line shot down 14th St if you are taking a cab from DCA and an easy block walk to the Metro and not far from the White House. Hotel staff seems like it has been there forever and they are as sharp as they come. Rooms recently renovated which was overdue but a welcome change. The restaurant bar 14/K have many locals and 1/2 price appetizer early bird specials has me there for an affordable dinner in a sleek looking room. Food is truly outstanding and rarely do I ever go out to dinner if solo. While many places you may feel odd eating alone at a restaurant bar, not here. Just a cozy feeling. Health club is better than most.

Room Tip: don't worry about the view and ask for a room facing away from the park as you might hear the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchneeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear SchneeTraveler,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. As you can imagine, being in the hospitality industry we all have spent our share of nights in many hotels and completely understand that awkward feeling of eating alone and love that our fantastic team of bartenders and servers make sure that our guests never feel that way!

We are very pleased to be your home away from home in DC and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 including 2 children stayed at Hamilton for 1 night after a long drive from Boston. I am a Gold member and used points to stay here for 2 double beds. I was recognized immediately for the benefits of free WiFi and free continental breakfast upon check in.
However, when I opend the door to my room, there was only 1 bed. I returned back to the front desk, and the receptionist said all the double rooms are booked. Then she offered 'Executive suite' with a pull out sofa room on the 14th floor with card key access only.
Room is very clean and nicely decorated. Noise from outside was pretty loud even we had a highest floor, so must be noisier for the lower floors rooms.
Continental breakfast didn't have much of a choice, so we opted to have a hot breakfast upgrade for $7/adult and had made to order omlet. Valet parking was $45 and took 30 minutes to get our car to hit the road.
Overall, staffs are very friendly and helpful. This is one of my favorite hotel and sure to be back when I visit DC in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanaeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear HanaeZ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent short stay in such detail. We are very pleased to be one of your favorite hotels and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panton, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I just spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very impressed. The entire staff went out of their way to be helpful. I was horrified at the cost of parking but soon realized that the downtown hotels charged the same amount ($42/night +tax). I had to visit another unnamed but expensive hotel downtown and the doormen were standing around chatting and didn't even glance at those going in and out. Our doormen always greeted us and asked if they could help us in any way. One even walked me down the street to point out the location of the metro. The chambermaid checked in after cleaning the room to make sure I was satisfied and to ask if I needed or wanted anything else. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, and the location was great.

Room Tip: The street is quite noisy 24 hours a day. You hear sirens, whistles, and honking all night long if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merry_vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear merry_vermont,

Again, another review that just brings smiles to our team. We enjoy having a fantastic location but truly know that it is the team members of the hotel that can make or break a stay and we love hearing how our team has gone above and beyond to make the stay memorable for the guest.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to wowing you again in the future.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I spent a week at the Crowne for D.A.R. Congress. From the moment I arrived, I was impressed by the professional and friendly staff, the beautiful decor, the large rooms with the most comfortable beds, and a superb restaurant. The staff members for both the hotel and the restaurant were top-notch: friendly, helpful, patient....attended functions at other hotels during the week and returned to Crowne each day even MORE impressed! All the ladies from the other states agreed that the Crowne Plaza is definitely the place to stay. We will return in 2014 to the Crowne and cannot wait. Thank you all staff members for making our staff memorable. Please keep the bone in rib-eye on the menu! Cindy Rice.....Laurel, MS

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyr68433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Cindyr68433,

Your review has brought nothing but smiles to our faces. We will surely be sharing your review with our team members so that they will know how much their hard work pays off. All of us at the Hamilton look forward to having everyone with DAR come to stay with us again for many years to come.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing