We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant find!!
After arriving from New York, the serenity of the Crown Plaza was lovely.
Wonderful staff - they were all lovely. Great room and a VERY comfy bed.
We would definately recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear MerlieD,

What a wonderful word to read in a review..."serenity". Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

staff friendly,parking outrages,room small.Friday night very noisy on 14th floor.Doors slamming and lots of loud talking til 5/6 am.Very slow in retriving car,yet we were told to call down 20 mins.before we needed car but took much longer.Extra $ for wi-fi. Charge you $75 a night just in case you use ammenities .You will recieve credit back minus charges in 2 to 3 days after check out. I was running the marine corp 10k on Sunday morning and asked the desk if i could please extend my check out by one hour. I was told no because other runners made requests. So ask while first making reservations. No pool..All in all not sure i would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear susan d,

Thank you sharing the details of your recent stay! We are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for a late check out and generally we are able to honor those requests but we were fully occupied on Sunday night and needed to ensure that all rooms were ready for guests to check in at 3PM. And as you may have seen in other responses, we are very happy to announce that if you join our free rewards program, IHG Rewards you can begin receiving complimentary internet at over 4,600 hotels around the world. IHG is the first hotel company to provide this amazing amenity for it's loyal guests and hope that it'll help bring you back to our hotel.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First, the good: impeccable decor, gorgeous lobby, great bar with happy hour, historic charm, excellent location, nice staff. Now, the bad: tiny rooms and loud street noise. We were on the 8th floor, and could hear people laughing in the street below, let alone all the police sirens several times per night, loud bar 1/2 block away, trash trucks at 4:30 a.m., you name it. I wore ear plugs and still couldn't sleep. If you decide to stay here, make sure to get a room away from the front street or anywhere near the bar across the park. We complained to the staff and were told they're trying to get approval to replace their single-paned windows with double-paned ones. Because it's a historic hotel, apparently this is a cumbersome process.

Room Tip: Away from busy street and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parcha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear parcha58,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are all deeply saddened that we failed to meet your expectations all around. First impressions are great but not getting a good nights rest is an awful thing. The outside noise from the city around us is a challenge that we have recognized and we are quite happy to announce that as of yesterday we started our window replacement project and we will be upgrading almost every window in the hotel for the comfort of our guests. We hope that with this great news you'll choose to stay with us again and we can have the opportunity to earn that 4th and 5th star from you.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed here before with no complaints. My last stay just last week was very pleasant up until breakfast.

The entire staff that I encountered were incredibly friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was clean, the temperature was perfect, sometimes you go somewhere where no matter how much you cool it down or try to heat it up the temp is always not quite right. And the relaxation ointments and spray and are nice little bonus. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, too. I was able to take advantage of the breakfast they offered, as well. I'm glad I ate before the dog came in.

I did not realize this was a dog friendly hotel, I don't mind it; I have one myself. And there was no issue in barking either. My issue and complaint is that the dog was allowed into the area where the breakfast was. This is a hotel not someone's home where the pet is allowed to roam free, inclusive of dining/eating areas. I find it very unsanitary. The dog's owner came in with the dog in a carrier (it was small dog), I'm not sure of the breed, but it had long hair and long ears. She kept the carrier on her shoulder as she got plates, utensils, and food for her and her (barefoot) daughter. All the while, the dogs ears were were scraping along the trays that held the silverware and the plates. This is not only disgusting, but very unsanitary.

I was glad I had already eaten; but feel bad for the next group of people coming in, having dog haired silverware and plates. The lady at the breakfast bar should have told her that the dog was to have remained in the room. Also, just like more restaurants have a no shirt, no shoes, no service policy - perhaps this hotel should develop it, as well. I'm not going to critique these people's parenting skills (or lack thereof) but it wasn't appetizing eating while this child ran around barefoot with blackened toe nails.

Unless the policy changes on the dogs allowed in the dining areas, I will reconsider any future stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Arriving from the madness of New York, we were so pleasantly surprised at this wonderful historic, mid sized hotel. Being a platinum member our four night stay was on points, not cash, but we were given an amazing room on the top floor and invited to use the VIP lounge for breakfast and cocktails. The room was comfortable with quality furniture and bedding and a great bathroom. There was a good coffee machine with REAL cups, not those ghastly paper monstrosities usually found in American hotels. Evening cocktails were great, and good wine to be had for a steal at $4 a glass. The staff were great, genuinely friendly and helpful. Free and fast wifi in the room and evening turndown.

Would thoroughly recommend the Hamilton.

Room Tip: You are not in Washington for the view. Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear donalddaniels,

We are quite happy to see that we exceeded your expectations while staying with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza in downtown D.C. for 4 nights in October 2013. From start to finish I was impressed with how exceptionally friendly and helpful the staff was - from the valet to the front desk to the concierge to housekeeping. The hotel also has a historic charm without seeming dated or worn as is the case for some other hotels that make that claim. And whether you are in town as a tourist or for business, the location is ideal - walking distance to the National Mall and to most downtown law firms etc. Head just a few blocks north on 14th street to get a flavor of the local neighborhoods and restaurants. Also the rooms were dark and the beds comfortable, making for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eburke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear eburke92,

Oh how we just love impressing our guests! So great to see you had such a wonderful stay. And aren't those roman style shades in the room great for blocking out that light in the room? Between that and the bedding, it's a good thing we have a guaranteed wake up call program! We hope you'll be back soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Returned from Crown Plaza two weeks ago very nice hotel and staff are so lovely and helpful,White House National mall etc are all in walking distance,really enjoyed happy hour 5 till 8 when you can get food and drinks at a good price also as the weather was lovely we were able to sit outside in the sunshine ,did not have breakfast in the hotel as there is a Cafe 5 mins walk away good food at half the price,all in all great stay in Crown Plaza and Washington D C

Room Tip: Room at front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear mariecroft,

So wonderful to read about your great stay. We hope that when you return we can wow you even more to earn that 5th star. Thanks for sharing.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,736 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#124 of 141 in Washington DC
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £75 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing