We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved Our Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #55 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Hamilton Crown Plaza, Washington, DC. The location was great- near attractions, bus line and restaurants. Everyone from reservation, doormen, front desk, to 12th floor attendant- Maureen; was wonderful, courteous and helpful. The room was great with a wonderful view. The Hotel is elegant and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Bill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for a staycation. Really didn't except the worst but was overly excited about the best. The beds sleep wonderful, we love that you can use the TV as a computer. The Keurig was a super plus, gone are the days of the regular coffee maker. The staff was nice, restaurant food was good and having a Starbucks down stairs is a plus (I've got to have my lemon cake :)) while we didn't use them (no reason) there were plush robes, new pair of slippers and Colgate tooth brushes. The view, location, staff and amenities will bring us back here for another staycation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear NLHD,

Reviews like this just bring smiles to our already excited faces. We all know how rejuvenating a staycation can be and we are quite happy that you decided to join us for yours.

We hope you'll be back soon and thank you for the great review.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was attending a conference at the convention center, just ten minutes’ walk from the hotel. It was a very quick check-in, good clean quiet rooms, new HD TV and excellent breakfast. Good hot shower, helpful staff and quick check out; what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koshyabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Koshyabe,

Well it seems that you had a very successful stay with us recently and we hope that when you return to Washington DC that you'll stay with us again. Of course we also hope that we can earn that 5th star from you. We're going to need to be very creative because it seem that you already enjoyed everything!

Thanks for the review and see you real soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week on business. The room was lovely and it was very close to the conference centre and tourist attractions. The breakfast was very nice however I was very disappointed with the service. I stayed for 5 nights and there was not a morning when I had an enjoyable breakfast. Every morning when I went for fruit and yogurt there were no bowls and when I asked for them it took the waiters ages to provide them. In addition to this every morning there was either no bread for toast, or no fruit or no yogurt. As this was self service it would not take a magician to sort this out. I seemed to spend most of the morning searching for bowls and plates. Even the chef cooking eggs ran out of plates. This is not a cheap hotel so you would expect a much better service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jant1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Jant1961,

Well we must say that we are very very disappointed in the experience that we provided you with. We always strive to ensure our guests receive pretty much the exact opposite experience that you had and for that we sincerely apologize. Please be assured that we are discussing your experience in detail with our restaurant management team so see exactly what caused this and to see what we need to do to ensure that it never happens again.

We greatly appreciate your candid feedback, as without important information like this shared with us, we cannot continually strengthen our team to ensure we are exceeding our guests expectations.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was just three blocks away from my office. Clean and spacious rooms. The breakfast buffet was good.

After a days work, it felt good to relax in their lounge for Hors d'oevres and drinks.

I have stayed in this hotel on two earlier visits also. The only thing that I found was that on their TV (satellite tv) channel 2 , 4 , and 21 did not work in any of the rooms due to poor signals. This has to be fixed.

Overall its good value for the money.

The staff are very courteous and friendly.

The front desk Manager Ravi Gaur is very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampath007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear sampath007,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. Great to see that everything seemed to go well during your stays. We have passed your comments along to our Engineering team to see if they can figure out what is going on with those channels that you have mentioned.

We hope that you'll be back soon and that your TV will be working perfectly so that we can earn that all important 5th star from you.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After the hurly burly and the bright lights of NYC, with a side trip to Niagara Falls, we had a couple of days to spare and flew down to Washington DC. We had got a deal for 3 nights with booking.com and had a king size deluxe room which included breakfast (continental) and canapés in the evening. The room was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge who was able to give plenty of advice as to what to see and what to eat. The sad thing was that we did not spend enough time in Washington DC to visit all the museums and sights - it was a 'snapshot' visit and we shall return. The Hotel is well located within walking distance of the White House, and we accessed it from Dulles Airport by the 'Washington Flyer' coach and then the Metro. It is a very short walk from the Metro station to the Hotel. A most enjoyable stay and well recommended. I note that there are moves afoot to provide free wifi - this is to be encouraged as it was the only 'downside' to the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Roglyn,

Reviews such as yours, we never tire of reading. Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. As you've mentioned, changes are in place for our WiFi costs and that will be happening very soon. We hope that when you return to complete your visit you'll join us again and we can turn your 4 star stay into a great 5 star experience.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We decided to host a school reunion at this hotel. I am an event planner and a native Washingtonian so I know what's what in this city. The hotel is gorgeous and they just completed a remodeling before our event. If you are hosting an event, look no further the service in impeccable, ask for Brian the Sales Manager.The lobby is to die for, beautiful ceilings, decor including photos of the city, some of them from years gone by are priceless. The restaurant ambiance was very nice and the food was very good, as were the portions. (However, it was a little pricey, but not unreasonable). Place is in walking distance of the Metro and the White House, centrally located so its convenient to other tourist sites like the Smithsonian. Staff was extremely friendly and pleasant, very knowledgeable about the city. Didn't seem put-off by my constant inquiries and requests like they do some places in the city. These days and times price is a huge consideration and the rooms were modestly priced. Starbucks in the place and the view from the suite are huge bonuses!! However, no pools for indoor types. My group was mostly into getting the view of the city and are still raving about the hotel!

Room Tip: Not all the rooms enjoy that beautiful room, just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear JDSM2013,

Thank you so much for both choosing to celebrate your wonderful event with us and for sharing how great everything went with the TripAdvisor community. We hope that you and your classmates will continue to return to the Hamilton Crowne Plaza for many years to come.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,435 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £112 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing