We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Extras not ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location, Extras not ideal”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay here on trip to NE US. Room was lovely and you could sense the history of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and staff were nice

Internet charges were disappointing. Used to free wifi in all hotels I stay in so always feel like they are fleecing us. Every other hotel I stayed in US had free wifi. Bar is basic too. Not much space to relax after a day. On the whole OK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Allan O, Thank you for your recent review. We are happy that our staff was able to make a wonderful impact as well, as they are all proud to be working at such a historical property. Being that internet is one of the items that was of concern to you, please know that as we roll into the new year our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards, will be honoring complimentary WiFi for all of our guests that are members and this feature can be used at over 4600 IHG properties around the world. We hope to be able to be at your service for your next visit to Washington, DC. Nicole, Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    830
    258
    92
    60
See reviews for
422
517
97
628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I will keep this simple:
Great room, great rate, great location. Staff is really very kind, efficient and polite. I travel extensively and I wish I could have this hotel with me everywhere.

If I had to find a negative: the internet. For three days using two devices, my internet bill was almost $80! For INTERNET! Not the worst thing to happen but a serious disappointment.

Room Tip: The 14th Floor is Executive Level. Try to book there. Quiet, great view. Great service. And see if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennySullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Greetings Nykenny -
We appreciate the review and we apologize that we were not able to provide you with a 5 star experience. We are pleased to let you know that your next trip will be perfect time for you to join our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards, because that will allow you to enjoy complimentary WiFi at over 4600 IHG properties around the world. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to the Washington, DC area. Nicole G., Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
391 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Well located and reasonably priced business hotel in the downtown DC area not far from the White House. The breakfast was good and the staff and service quality was well above average. Very good choice for business travelers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Greetings MakatiJoe -
Thank you for letting the TripAdvisor community know how you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being at your service for your next visit to the Washington, DC area. Nicole G., Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was my first time staying at the Hamilton and oh what a pleasant surprise it was. Very clean, very classy, awesome restaurant! Front desk was extremely helpful and recognized my Priority Club status (Platinum) and was upgraded to a top floor corner suite which had amazing views of the park across the street and even the Washington monument (I will try to remember to add pictures later). I had a nice living room with a sectional couch, big LED tv, fridge, even a built-in bookshelf which really made it feel more like an apartment than a hotel. Bedroom was amazing with a very comfy bed and they even left these crimes to help me sleep. One was a facial cream (and I think it really helped), a foot crime to help relax my tired feet, and a calming/relaxing spray that made me feel like I was in a spa!


Room service was also a pleasant treat since it came from the awesome hotel restaurant. It arrived about 20 min after I ordered, everything was hot and we'll put together.


The hotel is situated very conveniently on the corner of 14th and K street which is really close to a ton of touristy kinds of places as well as places to eat. Starbucks is also downstairs which you can just bill to your room!!!


No pool/spa but an a very good workout room with plenty of treadmills and bikes and even some free weights and a modern "universal" machine. I'll probably start staying here more often when I'm DC given the classy style yet reasonable rates and location.

Room Tip: If you can land a corner suite you will be very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear WindyCityFinest -
Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to give impeccable service during every interaction and it fabulous to know we achieved this during your stay. We look forward to being at your service for your next visit to the Washington, DC area.
Nicole G., Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

With the amount of travel I do for work, I never get to relax at Hotels. That all changed with my stay at the Hamilton. I'm only a Basic member with their rewards program but they made me feel like a Platinum. I, especially want to thank Andre, Louis and Veronica for all the assistance they provided from arranging tours of the capital and Washington Monument to great spots for dinner to City landmarks.The staff alone make staying at this hotel a must. While the food is average and no free wifi, I couldn't have asked for a better stay on vacation for a change.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Samantha B - We would like to thank you for your 5 star review. Our team is dedicated to creating wonderful guest experiences and it amazing when our team members are specifically named for all they do. We look forward to serving you again the next time you find yourself in the Washington, DC area. Nicole G - Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this November
Recently refurbished hotel in great location in downtown Washington DC.
Great tourist location for sightseeing.
Room was well furnished with 2 very comfortable beds.
Only small downside is that being in the centre of DC you do get a bit of traffic noise with the odd police or fire siren.
The reception team were extremely helpful and assisted us on finding our way around the City.
Food in the restaurant was good and breakfasts adequate for our needs.
Bar is very popular with locals in the evening which makes for a great atmosphere.
Would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise ask for room to rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdog223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Samdog223,

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed so much about your stay. We certainly hope that you'll return to stay with us again soon and that we can do our best to earn that all important 5th star from you.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza while attending a conference at the Washington Convention Center and found it to be the perfect choice. The building itself (on the National Register of Historic Places) and the rooms are beautiful, the staff extraordinarily helpful and the restaurant, 14K, is excellent. The location is very convenient to the Convention Center, the White House as well as many casual and fine dining options. All in all a real treat. The only downside was what the hotel described as the "upgraded" television system, which seemed a downgrade to us after looking at the former selections. No PBS, for example, but plenty of Fox News. Also the picture on the large flat screen television set kept reverting to pixels or whatever you call it when the picture starts appearing as cubes or squares. Get the TV working better and the hotel will get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Ruth M,

We appreciate you sharing your expereiences during your recent stay with us. We are certainly very happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay from the service to the historic aspects and the location itself. We will certainly be taking your review into consideration as we revamp our current TV provider and channel line up for the new year as our number one goal is to ensure every guest has a great 5 star stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with that 5 star stay when you return.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
819 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,608 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing