We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at better places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 weeks for training and the only positive I really have to say is that the decor in my room was nice. Room faced McPherson park where a lot of homeless slept at night. It is extremely noisy (woke up in the middle of the night on several occassions), hotel charges for internet ($13 per day per device), which is ridiculous considering all other hotels offer complimentary wireless internet. After speaking with the front desk and informing them that I was under the impression when booking that it came with complimentary wireless internet, they gave me an internet coupon code to enter but the internet was still extremely dissappointing. Internet cut in and out THROUGHOUT my time using it so I stopped and used my cell phone to do all my research and checked mail. Laundry cost a fortune (which I expected) that I decided to take it to a laundromat approximately a 10 minute walk away. I would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn approximately 1 block away If you want to stay in a nice hotel with more ammenities, such as, complimentary breakfast, complimentary wireless internet, coin operated laundry available on site, and close proximity to the metro station (literally located right across from McPherson Metro Station!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 03KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear 03KH,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed one night at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza on a recent weekend trip to DC. It was a great hotel for our needs. Since we were attending a wedding, we did not explore the area much.

Pros:
- very comfy bed
- good shower
- room was a great temperature, and with windows you can open
- card-required for elevator to rooms felt extra secure
- very polite and friendly staff at desk
- room felt up-to-date and clean
- nice TV
- no noise complaints/issues
- Starbucks shop off the lobby made it very easy to get quick and good quality coffee in morning.
- Lots of nearby sandwich and lunch spots.
- Speedy check in/check out.

Cons:
- Parking is tricky. Either pay for overnight in garage lot on other side of block ($27) or street parking at meter or pay for valet.
- No view from our room - all we saw was building next door, so had to keep blinds drawn for privacy the entire time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear hotelgirl111,Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. When in the DC area again it would be an honor to be at your service once again. Nicole, Rooms Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a seldom delight... windows one can open (a bit) in the US. And downtown Washington is so dull the street noise is very limited.
Beautiful hotel at excellent Location. Has a great character. Very friendly staff... in raw quantities.

Bing downside is paid Internet. Just stop that nonsense. Live up to your Standard.

Breakfast is very exspensive. Probably also because of many staff. Good alternative: the inhouse Starbucks.

If the Hamilton would offer free Internet, it would be my Washington adress.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Sjier - We very much appreciate your review and are very happy that you were able enjoy a bit of fresh air with our windows. We are also pleased to let you know that during your next trip to the Washington, DC area would be a wonderful time to join our free loyalty program IHG Rewards prior because that would allow you to enjoy complimnetary WiFi at over 4600 IHG Properties around the world. At your Service, Nicole, Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I visited Washington DC last week since I had a meeting and had a very good experience in this hotel. Everyone was very kind, especially Elizabeth at the front desk and Kalala the concierge. Small hotel but very well located, near the bus station, near the Convention Center. Confortable rooms, beds. Small gym but enough to have a good workout. It's restaurant very good but a little expensive. I definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analuisa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear analuisa22, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you find yourself in the DC area you find yourself at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza as we would be happy to be at your service. Nicole, Rooms Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay here on trip to NE US. Room was lovely and you could sense the history of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and staff were nice

Internet charges were disappointing. Used to free wifi in all hotels I stay in so always feel like they are fleecing us. Every other hotel I stayed in US had free wifi. Bar is basic too. Not much space to relax after a day. On the whole OK

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allano610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Allan O, Thank you for your recent review. We are happy that our staff was able to make a wonderful impact as well, as they are all proud to be working at such a historical property. Being that internet is one of the items that was of concern to you, please know that as we roll into the new year our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards, will be honoring complimentary WiFi for all of our guests that are members and this feature can be used at over 4600 IHG properties around the world. We hope to be able to be at your service for your next visit to Washington, DC. Nicole, Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I will keep this simple:
Great room, great rate, great location. Staff is really very kind, efficient and polite. I travel extensively and I wish I could have this hotel with me everywhere.

If I had to find a negative: the internet. For three days using two devices, my internet bill was almost $80! For INTERNET! Not the worst thing to happen but a serious disappointment.

Room Tip: The 14th Floor is Executive Level. Try to book there. Quiet, great view. Great service. And see if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennySullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Greetings Nykenny -
We appreciate the review and we apologize that we were not able to provide you with a 5 star experience. We are pleased to let you know that your next trip will be perfect time for you to join our free loyalty program, IHG Rewards, because that will allow you to enjoy complimentary WiFi at over 4600 IHG properties around the world. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to the Washington, DC area. Nicole G., Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Well located and reasonably priced business hotel in the downtown DC area not far from the White House. The breakfast was good and the staff and service quality was well above average. Very good choice for business travelers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Director of Rooms at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Greetings MakatiJoe -
Thank you for letting the TripAdvisor community know how you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being at your service for your next visit to the Washington, DC area. Nicole G., Director of Rooms, Hamilton Crowne Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,736 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#124 of 141 in Washington DC
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £75 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing