We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, near Metro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #63 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location is excellent for many reasons and near the metro. We didn't bother with a car knowing the metro, taxis and our feet would suffice. The room was clean, possible recently redone and large. The Starbucks on property is very convenient and the food we had in the bar was better than I'd expected. My two negatives about the Hamilton were: 1. Three hotel staff standing in the doorway talking as our taxi pulled up. They watched as I lugged my suitcase up the stairs and then offered to roll it across the lobby the 15 feet to the front desk…um, no thanks. 2. $12.95 for internet connection per day/per device. Rip-off. Even the front desk said it could be unreliable in the rooms. You have internet, you are charging for the room - include internet access.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSP0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear MSP0517,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate that there were items that prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made with the appropriate department managers, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

We are also pleased to let you know that your next trip will be the perfect time to join our complimentary loyalty program, IHG Rewards. This will allow you to enjoy complimentary WiFi at over 4600 IHG properties around the world.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here 1 night on a Saturday. Located north of Mall and convenient to many places in DC. Subway is a block away. Park across he street. North on 14th Street are a number of restaurants and shops. Starbucks on ground floor. Hotel bar/restaurant is inexpensive and tasty. The only drawbacks were that parking overnight was $45 when there are several decks I saw after-the-fact that are charging $11/overnight. They also charge for Wi-Fi, but you can typically pick-up free Wi-Fi in DC anyway. Several restaurants and pubs nearby and a CVS for any items that you may need is a block away. Beautiful historic building and lobby. Rooms are fairly decent size, clean and not too noisy. All-in-all a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Get the room on the southern (K street) side; it overlooks a park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had booked this hotel for the MCM, and the staff was very accomodating. The hotel is in an area with great access. The only problem I had was that the room definitely smelled like smoke even though I had requested a non-smoking room. It was perfect for getting to the race in 15-20 minutes though, and that's what I needed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntnrx719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear ntnrx719,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that your guestroom was not to your satisfaction and indeed we are a completely non-smoking property. We are confident that the necessary adjustments will be made to ensure comments like yours are addressed with our team.

We would be honored to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you again,
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location in the Downtown area of Washington. I was fortunate to get a a 3 day weekend special over Presidents Weekend that included an excellent hot buffet breakfast and parking, They seem to run a number of weekend specials so make sure you check it out on their website, These specials don't appear on Expedia, etc sites. Very nice comfortable, updated rooms and personel all seemed to be very accommodating. A great restaruant a block and a half away is Siroc if you are interested in good high quality Italian at resonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scovotti47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear scovotti47,

I would like to thank you for the recent review of your stay with us at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience and we would be honored to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you again,
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Not sure this is really a crowne plaza- missing things like additional pillows/blankets in room, however overall the room product is pretty good.
Bell boys not helpful at all - I had to spell my name 3 times to them to park my car the had to drag my bags up to my room without any help.
Checkin was fast and efficient as expected having being part of IHG rewards and stayed at many IHG properties.
With my status I was "invited" to join the "VIP Honor Bar" not sure what the honour was? I had to pay to sit there and have a drink. Not to mention the food which was some soggy spring rolls, dry cheese and celery and dip... Need I say any more? This is definitely well below par for other crowne plaza hotels I have stayed.
Location is good and room comfortable however pretty sure we would have got better service at a 3 star hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SMRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear SMRP,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate that there were items that prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made within the appropriate department managers, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being at your service again in the future.

Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Veronica and alex were great with service. Also the suite the lady with breakfast is great. The room service and maid were awesome as well. I will be returning and never think of another hotel. They are pet friendly and even catered to our need of warmer water. I dont think it could have gotten any better than this

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uc_mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Uc_mario,

Thank you for letting the TripAdvisor community know how excellent your recent stay with us was. Our team takes pride in ensuring all of our guests have a memorable experience and it wonderful to know we met your expectations.

We would be honored to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you again,
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Despite scaffolding on the exterior of the Hamilton Crowne Plaza the hotel impresses on a number of fronts; inviting lobby; friendly and efficient welcome and a room that is spotlessly clean, most comfortable, and decorated to a 'wow' standard.   It is light and airy. The bed was the most comfortable of the three hotels. It has it's own Starbucks. 

However, it has no free wi-fi. These days that's poor. 

On a Saturday night the bar becomes a banging disco but the noise was no problem on the 10th floor. 

It's 14K restaurant and service was very,very good and up until Saturday night the best meal we had to that point on our American trip ( pork chop, NY strip steak, seasonal veg, NY cheesecake and Ravenswood Zinfandel)

The following evening on our final night, before setting off for dinner, the hotel lobby enquired if they could do any more to improve the stay. By that they just did and then added a late checkout the following day. Tres bien!

Would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Bobs-big-vacation,

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are also pleased to let you know that during your next visit would be a perfect time to join our free loyalty program IHG Rewards. This program would allow you to receive complimentary WiFi at our property and over 4600 IHG properties around the world.

It would be an honor to be at your service again in the future.
Thank you again,

Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
2,696 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,975 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#123 of 142 in Washington DC
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing