We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first trip to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Hamilton for five nights. The room was nice and the concierge (Kalala) helped us a lot. The Starbucks in the hotel was great, great staff there and at the hotel. We were close enough to the metro to be able to avoid renting a car and we walked to the landmarks. I will definitely consider staying there again in the future, I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marioncrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear marioncrane,

We are pleased to know that your stay was exceptional and we would be honored to be at your service again in the future. We realize that Kalala, our Concierge is a tremendous asset to our operation and it is wonderful to know that his interaction with you was a positive one. We strive for impeccable service in all of our interactions with our guests.

At your service,
Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed with family whilst on a road trip, and for the helpful valet to the very professional and sociable check in staff it was a fantastic impression (especially as we arrived quite late). We had some of the basic rooms though were still some of the biggest we have stayed in whilst in the US. Very clean and updated rooms. Breakfast was very well serviced and felt attended to at all moments, buffet items were quite limited though. Had a grumpy waiting person in the bar (arrived 10 mins before closing), ought still time to persuade to pour me a drink. Pretty great location for the main DC tourist sites too, only 15 min walk to the Hill and 5 mins to the White House. Great stay, very happy

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Martin H.,

We greatly appreciate the fantastic review of your recent stay with us and thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to be at your service once again for your next visit to the Washington, DC. area.

Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It's not often you find such a great hotel in a central location which is available at down to earth prices. The service was very attentive and a wonderful breakfast. Parking is off site but even after adding this in, the prices were still less than half of what you'd pay in London for the same service. All the major sites are within a 10 (White House) to 20 minute (Lincoln Memorial) walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Sandra D,

We appreciate you sharing with the Trip Advisor your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our team takes pride in knowing that they have created a positive guest experience for everyone and we are honored that you felt that way.

We look forward to serving you and your family once again in the future.

At your service,
Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I traveled with my family of 5.( Kids 1,4 &11) we had a great view of the nearby park and washington Monument. Hotel service was Outstanding and very accommodating. We made sure to choose a rate that included parking (valet is only option @ $45 unlimited daily if you don't choose a rate with parking), we walked to the attractions and many nearby restaurants. The only downside beds are small (double), rooms Are tight but expected due to the area, no fan in the bathroom. All in all a great experience and the hotel dining was fabulous! No pool or kids activities but we knew prior to booking.

Room Tip: Higher levels to curb street noise. Park view excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarosFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear ClarosFarm,

We wanted to take the opportunity to thank you and your family for the recent review of your stay with us at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

It was an honor to be at your service during the time you were all with us and we look forward to servicing you again in the future.

Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel building and property is very nice looking including the exterior, foyer and room.

There were a few disappointing aspects of the hotel.

1. Wifi is not free - approx $13 per day
2. The business centre is poor and charges by the minute for usage and per page for printing
3. The room service did not fully replenish stocks in the bathroom
4. The cleaning by room service was not up to standard expected for a Crowne hotel
5. If you order room service food there is a $3 service fee and automatic 21% gratuity
6. there is no pool

I will note that the doormen and concierge were excellent and all very helpful.

The location is good, not too far from the whitehouse and close to the metro. It is however a fairly long walk to the other major sites, which can be tough in hot summer weather.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Shaun R,

We appreciate and value the comments made regarding your recent stay with us at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza. Our Operational Management team have been addressing your concerns and we internally are making the appropriate changes to enhance the overall guest experience.

We would be honored to be at your service again the next time you find yourself in the Washington, DC., area.

Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The first day I checked in, the toiletries were placed nicely in order, and when I open one of the bath gel, it was empty, so as the shampoo and conditioner. Had to call house keeping to deliver new ones. The shower tiles have mildew in them, they look dirty. Stayed here for two nights and had a hard time falling asleep; the air conditioner keeps on going off every half hr; the pillows were so flat there is no neck support and they gave me a headache. It is the second night at 4AM, I called front desk and asked if they have foam pillows; the guy told me they do; when the pillows are delivered by an African man, I told him these are not "foam" pillows, he said:"yes, these are firm pillows!" I was so frustrated and said:" I asked for foam pillows". He said:"yes, these are firm pillows. These are all we have!" He looked annoyed. I didn't want to argue so I closed the door. I was up all night. I have free wifi being an IHG member, however, when I tried to use the computer in business center because wifi was extremely slow; they said its under a different system and I have to pay to use it. This is a horrible experience and I will NOT recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g7973771 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear g7973771,

We are deeply saddened that we did not meet the expectations of your recent stay. We have internally addressed the issues mentioned with the appropriate department/division management to ensure this does not transpire again in the future.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly at: nicole.gebeck@interstatehotels.com Where I would be happy to discuss this further with you and win back your future business with exceptional service being delivered.

Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a great location in downtown DC and in within walking distance to everything. The hotel staff was very nice, including lobby, registration and restaurant. My room included breakfast, and the food was good quality/value. Overall, my stay at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza was great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSU-Nole-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Hotel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear FSU-Nole-Girl,

We appreciate the fabulous review and it would be a pleasure for our entire team to be at your service again in the future.

Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,691 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,877 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 142 in Washington DC
4,961 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1001 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402 (Formerly Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £78 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of official Washington. The Hamilton Hotel provides luxurious lodging in any of a selection of King, Queen, Double rooms or Suites. Many with spectacular views of the beauty of America's capital! On site 14K Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. 14K Lounge features Happy Hour prices and specials every day. The restaurant also offers a 3 season outdoor patio, one of the very few on K Street. Valet parking in an adjacent garage serves guests who drive. McPherson Square Metro station is 1 block from the hotel. The many monuments, museums and other beautiful and historic attractions of DC are within walking distance. The hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel to Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing