We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away !!!!!! Avoid this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When we first arrived we were told that our room had water damage and moved to the Embassy Inn ( sister hotel). Checked in into the Embassy Inn, room was extremely small, bed uncomfortable, bathroom dirty. Overall room was disgusting! Heard water running through drain pipes in the wall all night long. When brought to staff's attention we were ignored and no on-site manager. Because our issue could not be resolved by the front desk staff we were even not able to talk or to see the manager!!! Communication with the manager is only via Email!! We ended up booking another room at the Holiday Inn.Respond to our Email after 27hr and 6 calls to the front desk! 96 hr later and still no resolution to our issue. So, stay away from this hotel. It is not worth to pay a cent for this place!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimbo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Manager is the most obstinate guy taking care of a front desk. There was several rooms ready to check in but he make us wait two hours until 3pm to let us in. Hotel is noisy, rooms are very small and kind of dirty. I do NOT recommend this hotel for anybody.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Maurimixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here in april 2014. I had booked for three nights with a friend. My friend had paid the hotel with his visa card. My friend got ill and couldn't join me on this trip, so another friend of me came with me to Washington. My friend who got ill changed his name to my name as the primary guest on booking.com. I had send the district hotel an e-mail before i flew to Washington to tell them that my friend who booked the hotel couldn't join me on this trip, but that I will be the primary guest. I never got any answer back that this would be no problem.

On arrival they behave very rude and difficult for this matter because the visa card i gave them for additional costs wasn't the same visa card that booked the hotel. I told them that my friend booked the room, but got ill and could not come with me to Washington. But that all is oke and paid for. He even changed my name as the primary guest and that we send them an e-mail before we went to Washington. They didn't understand. How can I give them the visa card were the reservation was made with, when this person never went to Washington becayse of illness? When the hotel is fully paid an i give you my visa card for additional costs, what's the problem??

However, they did send the money back to my friend and I had to pay the whole amount of money again. That was the beginning of my vacation in the U.S and my visa has a maximum limit, so I could have been in trouble because i had to pay suh a high amount when it was not necessary at all.

I New York we didn't had this problem. The hotel didn't difficult at al that I gave my visa card for additional costs. We e-mail them also before leaving to the U.S. and they gave us an e-mail that everything was allright.

The front desk receptionist at the district hotel was so unrespectful, rude and wouldn't listen to our explanation. He even would't check his e-mail to search for our e-mail that we never got a response at.

Anyway the rooms are small, i think it's ok for one night, but search for a more beautiful hotel if you stay longer then one night in Washington. I know i will in the future! Next to the hotel is a lounge/ club - lot of noise at night, bring you earbuds!

The district hotel is not close at all to the monuments. But you can rent bicycles close to the hotel and there is a liqour shop and some places to eat close by. That is the only positive note i can say.

I will never return to the district hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welpke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were told there was parking available, at a cost. They were right. At a parkade several blocks away. Nice touch.
Also...do NOT arrive before 3 pm. and, I mean precisely 3 pm! We arrived at 2:50 pm, and were told to wait. Another nice touch...made us feel welcome. The front desk personnel were not the friendliest. They should simply stay at home, and have someone who can at least display a more friendly demeanour.
The rooms were fine, but small.
The continental breakfast was most basic, and with a cost of $5, or so. We didn't partake in their breakfast. Lots of places nearby...go for a walk.
Location was pretty good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runawaywinterbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was looking for a hotel in Washington DC Near the Australian Embassy on Massachusetts Ave for a quick business overnighter. And this was all I could get under a couple of hundred dollars for the night.....I thought - it's only one night, the other reviews said it wasn't great but I thought I'd book and take our chances.
To say it looks shabby on the outside is correct...chic it ain't. I was ok with that until I got to the reception and saw the electric cords stuck though a hole in the wall banged through with a hammer and I thought uh oh....So arriving at 2pm I thought well at least I can go to the room for a shower....nada. Room allocation is done after 3pm, after the maid presents her report and the lobby is starting to fill up....and I thought it's going to be a race....uh oh....not looking any better.
Off to the room.....joy oh joy, the lift works at least. And immediate deflation...the room is a dog box. Lucky I don't have a cat to swing...I have never seen such a tiny room except on the train. Hang on - that's now a dead heat. The bathroom was a time saver....I could sit on the bog and clean my teeth at the same time...onto a winner finally. I couldn't figure out if the towels were towels or grass skirts.
Well generally, I thought it was expensive for what you got, shabby - yes, small, yes, no closets for the clothes and no place for the suitcase...so that stayed on the floor and competed for walk space. The TV was perched high on the wall and not much bigger than a PC monitor. There was a tiny table with an ice bucket and underneath it I found a iron...no place to use it though but I guess I could use it to warm up a steak?
For dinner my wife and I scoured the neighbourhood for a cosy little local gem to eat at, nada only roadworks and dark dirty backstreets...so we walked downtown to our favourite place the Cuba Libre.....a trip highlight...
The 'coup de gras' was the $5 cost for breakfast....it consisted of the worst ever coffee, doughnuts and pastries, and waffles. The lobby was crowded with munching people, nowhere to sit and the deathly silence of disappointment. My wife and I walked to the nearest civilised hotel and ate a wonderfully hearty breakfast to erase the memory. Good Luck if you decide to stay.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Turkus_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at the District Hotel last night (March 25, 2014), as it was one of the few hotels I could find for around $200. It is a complete dump. Quite possibly THE WORST HOTEL I have ever stayed in. The elevator looks positively dangerous. The room was tiny, the TV was a 15" item on a tiny table at the end of the bed. The AC/Heat unit was stuck in the window and had to be turned on for heat as the room was freezing. The room was dank, unpainted for years, the hallways are a horror show. As soon as I got to the room I wanted to leave but unfortunately had to rush to an event that I could not be late for so I had no choice but to stay. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Don't book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel was dreadful. I stayed there for two nights and was very glad to leave. It is a budget hotel but it was so depressing I would rather spend more and stay elsewhere. My room had a very stained carpet and was tiny. It had a random cupboard which had a door which wouldn't close and got in the way of the main door. The heater was very noisy and was above the bed and glued badly into the window which meant that it was very drafty and dangerous. The bathroom had cracked, holey windows and a leek which left black water all over the towels and toilet. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom so everything had to be balanced precariously over the toilet. The duvet was disgusting and very stained. It also did not have a proper cover on it, and was just sandwiched between two sheets. I complained and was offered more sheets, and they had no other duvets. They obviously expected me to trek down to reception for them as no one ever came with the sheets and as it was late I gave up. I had already had to go down to reception several times as the phone wouldn't work on several occasions. The internet was terrible, and on complaining I was told that yeah it doesn't really work up on the third floor. Helpful!!!! The smell throughout the hotel was disgusting and smelt of urine and smelly food. I wouldn't stay there again if someone paid me too. It was awful. Most of the staff were so unfriendly and unhelpful, apart from one guy and his trainee who was nice. The others were miserable and didn't want to help. My colleague who also stayed had a broken hairdryer and was told they didn't have any spares... fortunately she wasn't on her own so could use mine, but its still not acceptable. Leaving the hotel at -4 degrees Celsius with wet hair would not be wise.

Don't stay there, there are other nicer hotels around for the same price. I would also not walk around that area on my own as it felt very unsafe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
401 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#132 of 141 in Washington DC
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
1,903 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £54 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing