We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #133 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location but too expensive”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for its location and I wasn't disappointed : it is in walking distance of downtown and all the monuments. However, the hotel staff was not very helpfull and Internet access did not work from my room. And finally the price is a bit too high IMO...

Helpful?
1 Thank Julien R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    93
    141
    107
    196
See reviews for
67
167
97
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As I was checking in, the receptionist of the hotel asked for my passport for identification I have been to numerous hotels and this is the first time a "receptionist " would be asking for my passport for identification. Is this a new policy? We as customers would really appreciate it if the receptionist was accommodating and receptive. Lots of improvement should be done to this hotel in terms of cleanliness . Better service and customer relations is much needed too.
We would also like to suggest that rubber mats be placed on the bath tub floors. This caused some bath tub accidents during our one night stay . The wifi was not readily available and was extremely slow. As a customer, customer relations is a very important factor in achieving customer satisfaction and maintaining this type of business.

Room Tip: The only advantage I can see with this hotel is its proximity to the tourist attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Based on past reviews on Tripadvisor this is maybe not a hotel I would have chosen if booking myself. however having spent four nights here I was perfectly happy with the experience and if ever returning to Washington would certainly consider booking the hotel again.

I shared a room with my son who had been working in Boston and with whom I met up at Washington Reagan. A quick taxi ride got us to the hotel and check in was prompt. We had booked what is described on the hotel Website as their largest room type, a Queen/Queen room. Our room (418) turned out to be in the basement which initially caused concern but on entering we were reassured to find a large room, clean, recently decorated and fitted with a flat screen tv and aircon unit in one wall. A window looked out to the front garden. The bathroom was similarly very clean and more than adequate for our needs with a good sized shower cubicle. There was also a large recess equipped with a shelf, hangers, ironing board and iron.

The beds were very comfortable and I had no problem getting out the next morning despite the transatlantic flight and connecting flight the previous day. Despite the closeness of Rhode Island Avenue (we were at the front of the hotel). We experienced no problems with either external noise or noise from other rooms. Our stay included Gay Pride Saturday night and there were plenty of people on the streets late!

We had no issues or problems with our stay, the rooms were cleaned and the beds made up daily and toiletries / towels replaced. The Aircon was noisy but effective, essential for us Northern Europeans who had not appreciated the importance of the phrase "Dew Point" before!

Location was perfect for us, easy walks to the Centre of town and the National Mall, equally the Metro was ten minutes away. The area is full of restaurants of all prices - 14th Street is 3 minutes away and there is a 7-11 at the street corner. If you are a beer fan, ChurchKey 1337 14th St NW is a must.

It is important to emphasise this is a no frills hotel. It was booked on that basis and we therefore managed our expectations before arrival. If you are looking for extras or a high level of service this is not for you. We did not need parking, breakfasted elsewhere, and apart from wifi did not need any additional service. The wifi was flaky, generally only available in the lobby but on occasion could be accessed directly from our room - don't bank on it though. However it was enough for us to pick up email, research restaurants, metro stations etc.

In summary the reality for us was much better than many reviews on here suggest. We could not fault the equipment or condition of the room and based on our priority (price). We were happy with the deal.

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 418. In the basement but quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnglave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ari Atoll
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Be very carefull! We had confirmed booking for 3 people. When we arrived (about 11 pm), the receptionist told us, we booked only one bed room, furthermore our booking was cancelled because of invalid credit card and the hotel is full. We had the confirmation printed so we were able to prove our booking, as well as we could prove our credit card is OK. But the receptionist told us he can do nothing for us. Fortunately came another receptionist who admitted after the sharp discussion the mistake is on their side. He found one room but one of us has to lay on the ground. After that we saw the same problem solve another guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room wasn't as small as some of the reviews I read, pretty clean which is a major plus.No parking whatsoever and the front desk guy was EXTREMELY RUDE seemed annoyed whenever I asked about parking. Overall the value isn't bad but I probably won't be staying here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had booking for a group of 22 people, it was cherry blossom week, April 2014. When we arrived they said to us that we actually booked rooms with only one bed and not two beds. Half of our group had no place where to stay, they didn't try to help us at all. It was impossible to meet their manager or reach him by phone, only email. So we overpayed double price for nothing! Never ever this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Алина Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the month of May 2014 and although the hotel is decent and strategically located close to the city centre with various restaurants and super markets around, this is one place you should give a miss only for the quality of the staff and especially the receptionist. The receptionist, one with a French beard is not just rude and unfriendly but also a liar. On one of the occasions, I asked him for some cutlery as we had ordered food from outside and he simply denied having any cutlery in the hotel which is unthinkable. Following morning I saw all the cutlery arranged for the breakfast. The internet didn't work in any room and everyone had to jostle for space in the common area for connectivity. There's a holidayinn just next door. Pls go there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tj-teejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
321 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
377 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
200 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Property: District Hotel Washington
Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing