We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I booked this hotel because it was near the office I needed to be at for a week long series of meetings. Upon arriving at the room I put down my bags and preceded to inspect the room. When I lifted up the mattress from the box spring, I saw a bed bug fall out and jump away. Based on an experience with bed bugs many years ago, I did not feel comfortable staying at this establishment. The desk clerk was very understanding and said there shouldn't be a problem getting a refund on my reservation. (It had been pre-paid on priceline and there was no manager on duty at the time.) The next day when I was contacted by a priceline representative, I was informed that the manager was only willing to refund me 4 out of the 5 days of my reservation, even though I had not spent a night at the hotel. I would avoid this hotel at all cost. (On a different note, the staff at the Holiday Inn down the block was extremely help in getting me a room for the night even though I had shown up without a reservation at 9 pm on a Sunday night.)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CO_traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Districthotel, General Manager at District Hotel Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2010

At the District Hotel, we do our best to make sure that all our rooms are
clean and fit for sale. This includes conducting regular housekeeping
inspections, and professional preventive maintenance and extermination
services. We are constantly vigilant towards the comfort and satisfaction of
our guests and we greatly appreciate any and all feedback.

Thank you

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

I so badly did not want to write a bad review for this hotel. I loved the location and the people who worked there - and breakfast was excellent. They had just upgraded the sheets, which were great, and the new comforter is beautiful.

The hotel room was so horrible, uncomfortable, noisy, broken down...well we begged to leave (which they wouldn't let us) so we snuck out and then came back to check out. Aparently hotels.com would charge an early check out fee? I am not sure what the deal is, but we lived with my friend up the street, and then on our last day in town we walked down to the hotel (in freezing weather) and checked out. So silly. We didn't mind paying the whole stay - we just wanted to leave early without having them charge us more to leave early than we already spent!

I could list the complaints but we could hear every voice in the lobby, we had to leave one morning and our door wouldn't lock shut (someone without a staff uniform on was standing guard for us according to the receptionist), the work upstairs caused the ceiling tiles to fall in over our tub, and the shower had just barely enough pressure to rinse my long hair.

I will go back when someone tells me they have gutted and remodeled the place...

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I should have paid more attention to other reviews, but the low price of this hotel caused me to ignore my better judgment. Unfortunately, we were exhausted after an overnight train ride and actually took a nap on the bed prior to inspecting the badly ventilated and unrenovated room. When we awoke, I noticed a recently sated bed bug crawling on my husband's jacket. We ripped back the comforter and found enough of the creatures to warrant our immediate departure.

Although the hotel did refund our money without too much hassle, this place seems to suffer from enough problems to warrant a thorough inspection by health officials. As an added bonus, the trash from breakfast was kept next to the check-in desk and a lively family of cockroaches were patrolling for goodies while we waited to check out. We always stay at inexpensive hotels and I can honestly say that our accommodations on mainland China were a thousand times better than The District. The photos are deceiving. Spend the extra money to stay somewhere else!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank batsarentbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Districthotel, Manager at District Hotel Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2009

As the Manager for the District Hotel, I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience these guests had while staying with us. I would also like to point out that that specific room and ones adjacent and opposite that room were all placed out service for a thorough inspection and treatment, as is within our hotel policy. Unfortunately, any hotel or even exterminator will tell you that bedbugs are known to travel within the industry along with guest luggage and other items, this makes them nearly impossible to prevent. This is why the hotel industry has seen such a rise in cases within the last few years.
Please be assured that we are doing everything in our power to alleviate this problem, including contract linen cleaning services, frequent exterminator inspections and of course, procurement of bedbug resistant mattresses and covers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We arrived late night after long flight. Booked the hotel because of decent pictures and nice location. When we got into our room we did a quick check for Bed bugs and very quickly found a live one in the bed. We quickly went to the lobby and got another room. Did the same thing, could not find any bugs but it's hard to be absolutely sure. Also everything was shabby and the heater was broken. We will NEVER stay here again and advise anyone to stay away!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JelONet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Districthotel, General Manager at District Hotel Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2010

At the District Hotel, we do our best to make sure that all our rooms are
clean and fit for sale. This includes conducting regular housekeeping
inspections, and professional preventive maintenance and extermination
services. We are constantly vigilant towards the comfort and satisfaction of
our guests and we greatly appreciate any and all feedback.

Thank you

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I just learned that they more than double-charged my credit card. What according to their rates was supposed to be two nights at $101 a night (which is what I signed for on my credit card) somehow ended up getting charged as $430. Believe me, it had nothing to do with any extra charges since we didn't even have a phone or bar in our crappy little room. These people are just crooks who think they can take advantage of travelers who will have a hard time going back to DC to get their money back. I am getting the charges reversed and will bring them to court.

The hotel staff seemed like crackheads, literally, and the place is a flophouse. DO NOT GO UNLESS YOU ENJOY HAVING YOUR ACCOUNT DRAINED BY CROOKS!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank solomongrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axcept, manager at District Hotel Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2008

I'm the manager at the District Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your card was charged twice. The District Hotel is not in the habit of charging people twice and we would like to think that we are not crooks who want to steal your money.
Please call me at the hotel at 202-232-7800 ext 601 so that we can track down this error and get you squared away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I would DEFINITELY recommend The District Hotel beacause:

(a) it's centrally located and convenient;
(b) the people are EXTREMELY nice and helpful;
(c) you really can't beat the price, especially with the free
breakfast; and
(d) it's NICE and CLEAN!

Just give the Distric Hotel a chance and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baalskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Nothing like the website or brochure.

Good location, a couple blocks from The White House and Dupont Circle. However our room was dark, dreary and narrow with different shades of wallpaper and damp, sticky carpeting in serious need of shampooing. Towels and sheets also were in need of cleaning. TV remote was greasy. The shower pressure came on then trickled away. This is by far one of the dirtiest hotels I've stayed in the last 5 years.

Staff was efficient and friendly however it doesn't make up for the flawed infrastructure. If you're looking for a budget/cheap place to stay, you've got lots of other options.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nprjunkie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
401 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#132 of 141 in Washington DC
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
1,903 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing