We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place i have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #133 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst place i have ever stayed”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

if you want somewhere cheap in great location and literally don't care about the state of the place, then this is perfect.
but if you mind your room never being cleaned, having breakfast in the foyer on a couch, no fresh towels, clueless staff, loud noise from outside and from other rooms, filthy windows you can't see out of, room not being hoovered, crap old beds, fans but no a.c., feeling somone is going to break into your room any minute and attack you... then this place probably doesn't suit you!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuvetDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    93
    143
    109
    201
See reviews for
72
167
98
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Remember the dismay you felt as you surveyed the 2-star hotel in Europe that you booked? Maybe it was small, ugly, not well kept up, and just generally bad? And about the only thing you could say about it was that the bed was comfortable and it was in a good location? And it had plenty of hot water? Well, forget the part about the hot water and welcome to the District Hotel at 1440 Rhode Island Ave., NW.




To start at the beginning, this hotel could only appeal to kids in their 20's who are watching their money, because it's cheap. But as guests advance along the age spectrum, it is the place to AVOID!




To enter the hotel, you must climb up about 15 stairs lugging your suitcases of course. No bell hops, no ramps, no luggage carts are available to help. This puts you into a lobby the size of a postage stamp which is the locale for your free continental breakfast which you must eat balanced on your lap or hunching over a cocktail table with a TV blaring over your head.




The elevator was out of service and the prospects for its repair are exceedingly dim since parts are no longer available due to its age, so if you are on the upper floors, guess what: more stairs!




Our room looked out on someone's back stairs and driveway so the dark brown curtains had to be drawn all day but did very little to keep out nearby streetlights at night. Total storage consisted of two drawers in two small night tables. The closet was deep but the only rods were actually water pipes running through it.




The bathroom was awful! On the door were two clothes hook, one of which was broken in half. I have never seen a worse paint job in my life! There was mold and cracks around the bathtub. The curtain rod and the metal towel rack were rusted and corroded. There was no grab bar in the tub AND THEY DID NOT PROVIDE FACIAL TISSUES. The hot water heater broke down during the night and they were unable to get it fixed until late in the next day.




In summary, I booked into this dump through cheapostays.com and I should have known better when I saw the exceedingly inexpensive rate, but I have to stay on Rhode Island Ave. when I visit D.C. and so I chose the District Hotel. But take my advice: don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FendelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Mooresville, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I really don't understand why there are negative reviews for this place. We booked a room here even after reading negative reviews. It was actually a wonderful place to stay. It is a historic hotel and does have an old feeling to it, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful. I was really impressed with everyone's friendliness, including the maid staff. The rooms were very clean and had fat screen TV's. Give this place a try. They have recently renovated several rooms and I think that old reviews do not take this into account. It is also within waking distance to many attractions. Parking was my only gripe with this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This hotel is adequate, nothing more. The decor is generally tired, and the staff are clearly there to perform a duty, not provide a service.

Arrival: was told on arrival at approx 4pm that we had to pay in full on check in (no problem), but were then told we had to wait to pay because the receptionist was about to go of shift and couldn't take any more payments, so not an ideal start. Was then told the lift wasn't working and was asked to take a room on the 4th floor - said I'd prefer a lower floor as all three of us had very heavy luggage. Response: 'OK.'

Bedroom: first appearance fine but small, nice bedding, nicely decorated. However, the curtains were closed. As soon as we opened them and some daylight came in we could see just how poorly the room had been decorated (mis-matched paint on the walls, chipped woodwork), and to top it off there was a squirrel living in one of the window frames! Obviously this meant that opening the windows was not going to be an option unless we wanted a visitor!!

Breakfast: for starters, breakfast is served in the small reception lounge where there are sofas to fit about 25 people. Not ideal when you consider the hotel has over 50 rooms! The food all tasted stale. We didn't bother with breakfast on day 2.

On departure there was a balance on the bill for parking although we had paid in full on arrival. the gentleman was insistant 'the bill has to be settled' without looking into what the balance was for. Turns out the tax had been billed twice, but there was no apology when the mistake was finally rectified.

I'm sure there are nicer hotels in DC, and I'll be trying one of them if I go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We really enjoyed staying at the District Hotel. The rooms were really small, but we didn't mind. We didn't come to DC to spend all our time in a hotel room. The rooms were clean, the staff very helpful and a good breakfast (you can even make fresh waffles!). The hotel is a bit old, some bathroomtiles were broken and you can hear the bathroom from the floor above, but nothing major, it didn't bother us at all

When I read all the negative reviews I was a little scared. But there is nothing to be scared about! It all depends of the expectations you have. If you like luxurious hotels, don't go here. But if you are looking for a good place to explore DC, this is a great, reasonable priced option.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VW-kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the District Hotel. The staff is very friendly and willing to help guests navigate the city, and the rooms are very comfortable.

Also, the breakfast is very good.

Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I just can say: HORRIBLE! Moldy, humid,....explainable, cause there is no proper air condition...just those single advices in each room. But I can't understand how anybody can say this is ok for a stay. In summer it stinks because of the mildew ... I barely could stand to pass the unventilated hallways. The first room was sooo small only one person could stand next to the bed, almostimpossible to stand as 2 people in the room. the 2nd one had to stay on the bed or in the bathroom. The TV was broken, the air condition was a filthy device which was loud and from an electric point of view suspicious. Behind the dirty curtain was a real dirty and rotten window hidden. The bathroom had a former door to the hallway closed permanently with a disgusting looking insulating foam. We got transfered to another room, a little bit better, at least we had some more space and it wasn't that moldy, but still rotten furniture and windows.......
Furtunately we stayed in that hole of a hotel just for one night, but it was really expensive .... for that money I could have stayed in that nice Holiday Inn a few blocks further.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uerpelken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
327 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
254 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
1,803 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Property: District Hotel Washington
Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing