We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice , close to the metro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Ranked #112 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

my experience was good, it's clean and comfy. no breakfast was included but are plenty of fast food around the hotel.
i dont feel very safe at night in that area but nothing to worry about. the hotel is safe but with extrange people at the arounds .
i ask at the reception if they could call a taxi to the central station at 2 AM.
the taxi never came, the front desk naver take reponsabilities on that either.
i have to took my bags and walk to the metro , running because the metro was about to close.
I don't think i would stay there again but it's not bad.

Room Tip: ask for a street side room, otherwise it will be very noisy because it's next to the metro.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to get you a cab. It can be a challenge at 2am in Washington DC to hail a cab down. I will share this with our team to help provide better service for future guests.

General Manager - Chris Zanzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for the Redskins/Chargers game. Wanted to stay in a safe area close to the Metro. Capital Hill/Navy Yard Marriott met all of our expectations. Property clean, staff went above their call of duty to help. Room clean and laid out nicely. Breakfast was excellent and priced well for the portion received. Metro on next block. Only downfall, fee to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike w, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Greetings from the Courtyard Washington DC/US Capitol. I see that you stayed with us quite some time ago. As I review our older reviews, I see that we still owe you a response. My apologies for the significant delay. I am the new General Manager and I am reviewing all Trip Advisor reviews – especially past reviews from a time before the hotel was able to really shine. While your view was very positive (thank you!), we have grown even further. I am completely impressed by our team and our neighborhood. I would like to recommend coming back and trying our hotel again! Yes - it's been a while, and I am new to this hotel, but your travel experience is still important to me!

We have many amazing amenities, new associates and leaders – and a completely transformed neighborhood that is bound to surprise you. If you have a chance to travel back to our area, we would love a chance to connect with you once again.

Thank you for staying with Marriott

M. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for the Marine Corp Marathon and very pleased minus a couple of problems. One we were scheduled with a shuttle to take us to the metro at 4:30am and although we came down 3 minutes after the shuttle never came. We were told by another person also waiting there before us that the shuttle never came and left empty. We all left at around 4:45am.
The other problem is that they put a $380 dollar hold on our account which we had already paid for head of time.

Other than that the hotel was very clean and was at a perfect location for us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MarinaRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

My apologies for the accounting error and that is not a common practice at the hotel. I am sure that we rectified the issue in a timely manner. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness and location. Hope you choose ti visit us next year for the event.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my 40th birthday for a week at the beginning of October.

It was a great stay. Good location, just out of town so not busy but served by the metro right next door, or a ten minute awl to Union Station.

The room was excellent. Spacious, comfortable and a great bathroom.

The staff where, on the whole, OK.

My only gripe was the room still wasn't serviced by 1600 hours? After a day walking around DC the last thing I wanted to come back to was an unserviced room. Staff made out we didm;t want it serviced, so was slightly miffed by that, but a free drink in the bar and an hour later it was all sorted.

Already planning a return trip to DC and we would certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaspaVonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Happy Birthday! Really sory for the mix up with your room being cleaned. Happy to hear that we were able to provide accomidations while taking care of the error. Thank you for the feedback and positive comments.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is hotel that is in walking distance from main attractions of Washington, DC near the Capitol. You may find promotions for $70 per night. The hotel is decent. Also the metro station is in one minute from hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Roman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Very happy to hear that our loction was ideal for your travels to Washington DC. Teh metro access is a great option at a very low cost. Looking forward to your next visit with us in the future.

General Manager - Chris Zanzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

For Marine Corp Marathon Weekend, all hotels closer to the city proper were filled. This Marriott although not the most convenient to inner city DC, is conveniently located near the Metro. Staff are extremely accomodating and helpful. Due to the marathon and homecoming at an area college, we had to sign a "Quiet Agreement". It worked - no crazy loud neighbors. Had a good nights sleep for the 3 that were there. Beds are very comfortable, rooms including bathroom are clean. Cannot comment on the coffee at the bistro (they brew Starbucks) - had a coffee from Au Bon Pain next door. Restuarants in the immediate vicintiy are not noteworthy. ATF headquarters is down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the Metro - the hotel is conveniently located near the NoMa stop on the redli...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for choosig to stay with us while you were here for the marathon and thank you for your service. The quiet agreement help protect all guests during city events to get a great nights sleep when staying with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Traveled in Oct 2013 for a conference at the Convention center. (The closer hotels were full). Marriottt's website says the hotel is only a few miles away....but it's really in another world. Located directly across form the federal ATF HQ, there are few restaurants and NO taxi service. Want a 5 Guys burger? No problem. It's across the street. Want a muffin from 7-Eleven or AU Bon Pair? It's right next door. But if you want a reasonably priced dinner and drink - forget it. I ordered a gin on the rocks and was charged $8.95 for a ONE OUNCE POUR. Seriously- there was way more ice than liquid in the glass. A burger is $12.50. Trip advisor says I'm only a mile away from the Tune Inn- a Diners Drive-ins and Dives location famous for the beer batter burger. I saw the bar staff pour 1 oz drinks over and over and over. If you want to get. Buzz on....don't spend your money here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank BizTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations while you stayed with us. The Noma area continues to develop and provide more dinning options for dinner very closeto the hotel. As you may already know the red line is only 300 ft from the hotel that can provide you access to all of Washington DC dinning options.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hil...
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
719 reviews
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#117 of 142 in Washington DC
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3582
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing