We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not believe the bad reviews, we had a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was a guest at the Comfort Inn from sun 5-5-13 to fri 5-10-13. My trip was booked through Funjet Vacations. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite at no increase in price. room 517. Check in was quick and staff was very friendly. The staff was helpful in recomending tours to take and our room was very clean with no complaints. There is a daily shuttle to union station in the morning up to 11am and after 5pm to 1015 pm which was very convenient to us. Train noise consisted of high speed Amtrak trains zooming by. the were not blowing their whistles and the train noise was minimal. Hotel was well maintained and the free breakfast was very good with eggs, meat, waffles, etc. Blanca, the breakfst hostess did an excellant job of keeping things clean. Dennis at the front desk also did a great jobof assisting us. The neighborhood is a little run down, buts its not that bad. Fast food and convenience store were about 4 blocks away which we walked to several times. I don't think I would walk this at night time, but during the day, we felt safe and were never hassled. If you are looking for a 5 star hotle with bar/restaurant, dont stay here . Ifyou are looking for a good clean hotel to stay at while touring washington dc, this is an excellant choice as their prices were much better thans some of the other hotels. We enjoyed our stay here while touring DC, yes, I would stay here again. Mary

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is not 5 star but it is good because it is not as expensive as the other hotels in washington. Also the breakfast is not bad and the hotel has a free shuttle that takes you to Union Station and from there you can walk to the major sights of Washington. the rooms have no wardrobes, beds are comfortable and the bathrooms very neat. I definitely recommend it for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yineth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive place close to downtown with a free breakfast and shuttle to the Metro. This meet all the requirements. Yes the neighborhood is run down some but that would be the only negative (since I am not here to see the neighborhood that was fine).

Well maintained inside - nice wood work, great well stocked breakfast area, friendly staff, the shuttle ran regularly and looked new inside There is a good bit of street noise in the morning, next time I will request the backside of the hotel.

I don't know what the negatvie reviewers were expecting in DC for this price but it was slightly better than what I figured we get. We are platium Comfort chain members so we have stayed in many different ones.

Room Tip: If you are not used to traffic sounds in the morning ask for a room on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel is in a terrible neighborhood, ugly and dilapidated. Choice hotels should be embarrassed to be associated with this location. Room was clean, that is the only good thing we could say about it. Access to the front is impossible for a handicap person.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Far from union station like 15 minutes on a rickedy van. at check in there appeared to have been shelter families with multiple children. the decor is shabby 70's the breakfast was spartan. i cant see how this could be rated above poor. the van is am and eveninng only so you had to cab it in between. dont believe positive reviews...do not stay here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel, then cancelled it the same day after finding an alternate place to stay. The cancellation policy was for 48 hours prior to arrival. I cancelled about a month prior to expected arrival. A pending charge showed up on my credit card so I called the credit card company and told them I had cancelled the reservation. A few days later the charge was put through and my Choice Hotels profile recorded me as a "no-show". I first contacted the hotel directly, and the person I spoke with said I had to call the corporate office since I had made my reservation through the web site. I then spent more time on the phone with someone at corporate. He had my reservation as well as the cancellation confirmation, but he was unable to resolve the issue while I was on the phone with him. In the meantime, I have filed a dispute with the credit card company. So far, the charge is still showing up on my account. (This would have been a solo trip in April, but I did not take the trip; I was unable to submit the review without this information.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

First, its not near Union Station- it's a 15-20 minute ride via shuttle that does not operate between 11 AM and 5 PM. Taxi fare is about $12 one way. The hotel is adjacent to cargo and passenger rail lines that operate 24/7- bring ear plus. Also, it was impossible to adjust the hot water in the shower- too hot or too cold. The room itself was good and service was good.

Room Tip: Request room on STREET side of building to lessen noise of trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#117 of 142 in Washington DC
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#115 of 142 in Washington DC
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#114 of 142 in Washington DC
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 142 in Washington DC
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £102 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing