We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm - Not what we expected, but it does grow on you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Ranked #132 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Initially we were very disappointed with this hotel - they didn't have our booking and the location is the pits. We didn't get off to a good start. The rooms are older and a little shabby but... they are very comfortable and everything did work. The beds and pillows were surprisingly comfortable and the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was also included in our package and I am pleased to say that it was good with a reasonable selection to choose from. There is a room put aside for business purposes and this worked very well and they do not charge extra for this service, there is also a gym but we didn't have time to utilise. In the reception area they did have a lot of tourist information which was also useful. Off street parking was available for a small extra fee and the free wifi at the hotel worked reasonably well. As I mentioned we got off to a bad start but our stay did improve. When we were in Washington it was incredibly busy and very expensive, this hotel does rate itself accordingly - we just weren't that happy with the location. Depending upon your needs this hotel is adequate and affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessPaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Best hotel for transit,freindly staff,fast service just very near to Union Station,just 5 min walk away.All Transport systems nearby to major attraction tourist spots,rates affordable within USD100,best accomodation for Tourist

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talib J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is located 5 miles outside of downtown DC on the wrong side of the tracks - literally! The neighborhood is less then desirable. There is nothing in walking distance with the exception of a store that sells beer and a gas station - not that you would wander there anyway. The staff is friendly and helpful in light of the hotel's short comings - in fact, the staff is the best asset of this hotel! The rooms are mediocre at best, internet access is intermittent, shuttle service not reliable in the afternoon (Michael, the morning driver is exceptional!) the breakfast area is not very clean and not well stocked, and lastly - check your bill carefully. We were guaranteed a discounted rate through a third party travel service and the hotel grossly overcharged us! They did rectify the situation but it took 1 call, a return trip to the hotel (5 miles - 45 minutes!) and then 30 minutes at the front desk to resolve the overcharge in the computer (but again - the staff shined through!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarketingSME123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Please do not ever give 1600 New York Ave your business. They treat black people differently from the white population. There are separate eating quarters for white and blacks. Even when it comes to the cleanliness of the room, black people have to deal with dirty towels, nasty maid service...AND BED BUGS! THIS HOTEL WAS JUST SHUT DOWN FOR BED BUGS A YEAR AGO...NOW IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nice location not far from all the sights, friendly and helpful staff. Decent selection of breakfast foods to choose from, nice healthy choices. Even though there is a train track behind the building, it did not disturb any ones sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for 7 days as I was on a business trip. Hotel room looks clean. The front desk staffs are friendly and always trying to help. Only draw back is little away from down town. Breakfast is good. Safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraveenKumar2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we had a two-night stay in this hotel which was an unpleasant experience, thankfully , we moved to another hotel which near the central after the two SCARY nights. There were several polices happened to be the same floor of our room when we went back the hotel on the first night(early than 10pm). Since we had no idea of why the police were there, I couldn't had good sleep that night. Another couple of police appeared at the lobby the day we checked out and we don't know the reason either. The hotel is a kind of motel located in an unsafe area , one side face to the highway/street, back to the railway, which make the room noise(the windows are not sound proof).shuttle bus always NOT on time and you should call them to pick up you when you waiting at the union station ,otherwise they won't come. Totally, the hotel made me SCARY all the time
Staff are nice,room are big, but I regret having choose this hotel and will never come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannamianmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#117 of 142 in Washington DC
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#116 of 142 in Washington DC
322 reviews
3.6 mi away
Windsor Park Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#76 of 142 in Washington DC
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £102 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing