We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So bad not even a comfort inn anymore!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Ranked #130 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So bad not even a comfort inn anymore!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I normally stay at Choice hotels. I normally am very pleased. Not here. I don't have time nor energy to go over everything so I'll list the highlights. First, ever see the movie Blues Brothers? Remember the scene where they get to the hotel and the train comes by. Again and again? And no matter what you hear it because it's right outside the window? You can see why I was so happy. Then the next morning I went for the complimentary breakfast they claim to have. They had something but it wasn't edible breakfast. And I particularly loved the orange colored water. I think it was supposed to pretend to be orange juice. Finally, they try to add $12 for parking when you leave.
In the middle of nowhere to top it off. Definitely can't walk to anything.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinas25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    60
    36
    38
    70
See reviews for
64
47
30
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was said to be non-smoking, but it smelled terrible. It may have been general staleness and not smoke smell, but it was terrible either way.
The TV remote was so worn away that I couldn't even read what button did what.
The outlets were loose and protruding from the walls.
The bathroom sink took literally forever to drain. I washed my hands and it took at least 5 minutes. The trickling sound of the water as it attempted to drain was also very loud as it went on forever.
There were zero real pillows on the bed. There were about 5 tiny pillows stacked together, but not a single real pillow to sleep on. The bedding was also fairly gross.

In addition to the room issues, the person at the check-in desk said he could arrange a taxi to pick me up in the morning to go to the airport. The driver was on time in the morning, which was nice, but as I was getting into his car, I asked if he took credit card, assuming he would. He did not. Since he was my only option by that point, I had to have him drive through an ATM, which cost me $5 in ATM fees. Furthermore, he was not a sanctioned taxi driver, as I would expect when asking a hotel for a taxi. There was no meter in his car and he gave me an arbitrary (though expected) amount to pay when we arrived at the airport. He was a really nice guy and it worked out okay, but it was not how the situation should have been handled.

Room Tip: There are tracks behind the hotel, so stay away from that. Also, just stay away from the hotel unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good value for the price, clean rooms and they gave a free breakfast as well.
The location is rough, nut they have a shuttle to and from Union station, so monuments and whitehouse are within walking distance.
We stayed an extra night because it allowed us to visit Washington on a budget.
Hotel staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the train tracks, on the street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during the 4th of July rush. The hotel was sold out but the staff and services we received was outstanding. Got room service daily and if I call for fresh towels , it would arrive within minutes. Very well organized and managed. The manager Chirag Patel was very welcoming and took care of all our needs. I do visit DC for business purposes and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Misari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Comfort Inn on New York Avenue made my stay at Washington DC a wonderful one. The staff were amazing and friendly!!! they were very helpful and didn't get annoyed with all my questions!! The breakfast place was clean and well stocked and had food that everyone in my family would be satisfied with. Our room was very clean and spacious for my kids to enjoy. Also it had everything that we wanted and even more in the room. we stayed there on the 4th of July weekend and found that it was a very convenient location.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Comfort Inn on New York Avenue was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The amenities were up to date and modern. It had everything that we expected and more in the room. The breakfast was clean and well stocked.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The problem was not that the staff were extremely uncooperative, rude, impolite and unbelievably mean ( i mean seriously like premeditated mean). The problem was also not that our room smelled like vomit all the time. The problem was also NOT that it is a million miles away from anything good in the city of Washington DC.

The biggest problem for me was the fact that despite booking MONTHS ago, when we arrived at the hotel after a long bus ride, back aches, extreme hunger and thirst, these guys made some silly excuse about "water leakage/ seepage" due to which apparently they had to shut down the whole of the 7th floor and this PROBLEM , miraculously disappeared within 24 hours of its start. The worst is yet to come- Their duty manager had the nerve to tell me that she had been "trying to get in touch". I mean dear GOD, how hard is it in the age of technology to get in touch with a person? EMAIL, TELEPHONE, TEXT!!!

a. Obviously they over booked and did not have the guts to look their guests squarely and simply own up to being careless and sloppy with their reservations.

b. They sent us to a sister concern hotel which was another 20 miles away from DC (we might as well have stayed in Baltimore for the night). Now this other comfort inn was WAYYYY BETTER but really far so we had to return to the sloppy comfort inn (which as i have mentioned smelled like vomit).

c. They did not even give us transport back to the city the next day and we had to spend quite a bit of cash for the ride back from ALMOST BALTIMORE to WASHINGTON DC. They grudgingly offered us a room upgrade but didn't matter because by then we were miffed, extremely inconvenienced and exasperated at the attitude of the staff.

All the restaurants/ other hotels we ate in while we stayed in DC gave bad reviews of this hotel.

I loved the city, I loved every single place I went to/ ate in and all the cab drivers I met.

But everything was ruined at the end of the day when I had to step in here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dessert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipatel82, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We sincerely apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We pride ourselves on Customer Service, and will take your comments seriously to ensure customer satisfaction. We hope to retain your business in the future. Please feel free to contact at chirag.patel@axarmgmt.com for additional comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Camp Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Property: Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing