We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best arboretum that I've visited”

U.S. National Arboretum
Ranked #36 of 432 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1927 by an Act of the United States Congress, this national treasure contains 446 acres of fabulous flora and fauna and is especially known for its Asian, azalea and conifer collections.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best arboretum that I've visited”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The variety of plants is almost unbelieveable Delighted that they could pack so many things into that space. Everything is well marked and very informative. Glad that I had worn comfortable shoes. I wished that I could have spent more than one day visiting the arboretum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarrelDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    122
    25
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rain kept the tourists away but hard to see azaleas”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited the National Arboretum because it was one of our favorite places in spring in the early 90s when we lived in DC. Unfortunately, we got caught in a rainstorm. Even more unfortunately, we thought the tram tour would be a good way to see the site in the rain. The tram tour is long--almost one hour--and the side panels were broken so we got pretty wet on the tour. The descriptions were not that interesting--mostly about the importance of the arboretum. Also, we were too far from azalea hill on the tram to see these beauties. Hope one day we can return--on a sunny day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelin'CalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bring a camera and comfortable shoes”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This covers hundreds of acres. There are miles of trails but you can see an awful lot if you stay in your car. There is something always in bloom. I have shot countless photos over the years. This is a wonderful spot to bring your family or several hundred people for a picnic. There are lots of small parking lots where you can get out and take a closer look. When I was a poor college student I brought girls here on dates. There is an indoor museum with bonsai trees for people who don't feel like walking a lot. It is very easy to get to by car. There are lots of free parking spaces. Your tour can be as quick as half an hour or 8-10 hours if you want to see everything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“informative and educational”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The collections of plants are amazing. The Japanese and Chinese gardens are very beautiful. The herb garden is the largest and it is very nicely labelled.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pepperpike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful DC Garden Experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon walking around the Arboretum. Went specificlaly to see the amazing Banzai Tree exhibit which we all loved. The great pools of gold fish were a special attraction to our 2 grandchildren as were the childrens gardens. Loved the native plants and history as well. Beautiful!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachtiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. National Arboretum also viewed

 
 

Been to U.S. National Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing