We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value but missed having a pool/spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #62 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent value but missed having a pool/spa”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My bad that I didn't notice there wasn't a pool when I checked and reserved online. It would have been nice after a long hot day site seeing. Still, this hotel is an excellent value for the price. Newly renovated, free computer usage, adequate and very crowded free breakfast. The staff was friendly and knowledgable too. We took the Metro from Reagan airport and the hotel is 2 blocks from the Chinatown stop. Many, many restaurant choices within a couple of blocks and many museums too. There is also an onsite restaurant that is comfy and has good Irish food. I would stay here again if I come back to DC - and I hope I can soon. i requested a high floor when I booked online and never was bothered by street noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    349
    98
    19
    8
See reviews for
252
173
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The room was nice and the concierge & valet parking attendants were excellent!! The overnight parking is very expensive ($33 a day). The bathroom was not clean very well when we checked in. There was hair on the floor and the toilet was not very clean at all. We did not make a big deal out of it we decided to speak to the cleaning people and told them to make sure they cleaned the toilet the next day. They still did not do a thorough job of cleaning the toilet at all. There were visable stains on the back toilet and the inside. For a "new" hotel the toilets should not look so dirty and dated. Before you fully check I would advise you check the bathrooms to make sure it's thoroughly cleaned before you get settled. Also, the buffet breakfast area is very tight so I suggest you come down for breakfast very early. The hotel is in a great are but you have the occasional homeless and old drunks around the next corner but they won't bother u at all. It's very close to the train and the megabus depot!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verona60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Fairfield Downtown was formerly a Red Roof Inn (which is helpful to know if you want your cab driver to know where to take you). This hotel was a pleasant surprise - affordable by D.C. standards, great location, helpful staff, fresh decor, very clean, nice fitness center and a great continental breakfast included. Our 2 Queen Bed room on the 9th floor was great - everything looks new. There is a restaurant/bar attached, but we did not visit it. Only a two block walk from the Gallery Place/China Town Metro stop. Walked to the Natural Museum of History, the National Archives, and Air & Space Museum and to shopping. Awesome dinner at Matchbox - Chinatown. Also took the metro back to the Washington DC Reagan airport - $2.50 trip vs the $20 (w/tip) cab ride. We will definitely use the Fairfield for our future D.C. trips - convenient, awesome facility, great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiFromMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We were allowed to check in early at 11:30am on Sunday. After driving for 8 hours this was a welcome surprise. The hotel itself is very nice. Looks like it has just been renovated in oriental theme. This hotel is in the middle of China Town so that would be fitting. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The lobby and room were very clean and seemed very new. Free continental breakfast in the morning was nice. Negatives: NO POOL. On a 95 degree day, a pool would have been great after walking around all day. Also, to be charged $35 to park our vehicle in a spot attached to the hotel after paying $149 for the night for the room is uncalled for. I don't think it is ever OK for a hotel to charge a guest for parking when they have the space for it. It was a spot outside, not in covered parking and was literally next to the front door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Totally renovated. Brand new everything. We were so pleased with the room, the corridors, the lobby, etc. The decor is modern and bright. Please make sure to view new photos - many of the photos on this site are from before the renovation. Very well located to the Verizon Center, Chinatown, and all of downtown. A great value and quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Prior to the Renovation & conversion to the Marriott...This was a Red Roof.. It was convenient for the needs of my group & the prices were OK... But this year as it reopened I was so amazed that it was the same hotel..Everything was new & clean & terrific..It was like the RR never existed..I was more then pleased with the room configuration.. We had more room, but the only flaw was the closet space.never the less.I was happy and will continue to stay there with my group for the coming years...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockaway, nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed at The Fairfield Inn & Suites recently, and I have to say that my experience was fantastic. The decor (which I understand was recently updated) perfectly reflects the cultural flavor of the neighborhood. Everything sparkled, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I can't speak to the value, as this stay was 'paid' for with Marriott points, but I would certainly stay at this property again.

The location is ideal to sightseeing at the National Mall. There is a Metro stop one block away, and there are TONS of dining options (not only Asian) and shopping in the area. Continental breakfast is offered in the morning, and coffee and tea appeared to be available most of the day.

The only tricky part of the stay (for a suburbanite like me) is that parking 'out front' to check in. Being IN DC, the hotel uses valet parking, so it took us two swings around the block before a space opened up to get our luggage out of the car.

Another nice feature is that post-check-out luggage storage was no problem.

I can't say enough nice things about the place. I'm looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylandchinooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing