We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“handicap room flaws”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The bed in the handicap room in DC was way too high and the toilet way too low. Hotel staff claimed that is standard.We then went to the Marriott Brooklyn Bridge and their handicap room was much nicer. Both had nice showers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear 30SandyBrook,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your room at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive the experience and service they deserve.

I will share your thoughts and comments with the staff to help us to continue to improve our hotel and service.

We hope that you will consider us the next time you are visiting the Washington, DC area.

Please reach out to me directly if I can be of service for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    338
    96
    19
    8
See reviews for
245
170
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised at this smaller well located property. It was cherry blossom weekend which filled the hotel to capacity but the staff was all over it. From the Valet parking to the concierge service all was great. Unlike a more upscale Marriott property there was no suave or elegance here, just tremendous service and value. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast more than ample.

The property is small and a bit cramped for a capacity crowd but all is handled in a highly professional manner. I give a big shout out to all the staff here - they all deserve a raise. Danielle, the concierge is all over the place making everything run smoothly. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go higher, probably quieter. Corners have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear shorevet,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC Downtown. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that our hotel, amenities and staff provided a great stay.

We are very proud of our team, hotel and proximity to all that is the Capital City. I will share your positive comments about the team, especially our concierge Danielle.

Please do join us on your next trip and continue to recommend us!

I am happy to help you personally with your next reservations. Feel free to reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay! The hotel staff were super nice, very friendly and accomodating to our family. The room was clean, we have no complaints at all. We would like to mention a member of the staff, Davonna I believe was her name- she was fantastic with our son, she went out of her way to make him feel special and we appreciated that so much! We'll definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side of the 7th floor. Quiet neighborhood, gorgeous sunlight in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSaXoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear MsSaXon,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our hotel was a perfect fit for your visit to DC. Our location is excellent and we're thrilled to hear that you felt the same way. Thanks for commenting on our entire team, and in particular Davonna from our breakfast team as it's always great for me to be able to share our guests thoughts with our team.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to our Nation's Capital!

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was an excellent hotel to stay and convenient to get around the city. If you are willing to walk, you can make it to the Capitol Building, the Smithsonian Art Museum, many restaurants, the Verizon Center, and to Constitution Avenue and Pennsylvania Avenue. I walked about four miles and made it to all of these sites and several more.

The employees here at the Fairfield were very nice and helpful. The room was very nice and modernized. I would recommend staying here if you have to stay in downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Bookroxy,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our hotel was a perfect fit for your visit to DC. Our location is excellent and we're thrilled to hear that you felt the same way. Thanks for commenting on our entire team as it's always great for me to be able to share our guests thoughts with our team.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to our Nation's Capital!

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton WV
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Was going to a conference at the Washington Convention Center,and the Faifield did just fine. close enough to walk there comfortably (we had snow that Monday, and I was still comfortable walking), near restaurants and the Gallery Place Metro station, and pharmacies are nearby. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were fine, although I had a view of the mechanicals.The only unpleasent thing is the price-$259/night when I went in early March 2014, and $39/night to park the car with in and out privledges.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lspdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lspdoll,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our hotel was a perfect fit for your visit to the Convention Center. Thanks for commenting on our team as it's always great for me to be able to share our guests thoughts with our team. I am sorry to hear that you didn't get one of our rooms with a better view. Please reach out to me directly in the future for reservation needs and I'll be sure to provide you with a better view next time.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to our Nation's Capital!

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I went on a 4 day "mini vacation" to Washington DC in late March and decided to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites ( in the downtown area ). The hotel was "typical Marriott", with all the nice amenities including a daily hot breakfast. The staff was competent, friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. As for the, clientele it was roughly 1/2 business and 1/2 tourist ( mostly young families ).

The hotel is located in the Chinatown area and just a few blocks from the Verizon Center. It is also within walking distance of the DC Welcome Center, Metro Stop, Ford Theater, Spy Museum, and several of the lesser known Smithsonian Museums. Needless to say, we had no problem finding great restaurants ranging from Chinese to Spanish to Italian to Pub Food.

In a city where hotels can be quite pricey. the Fairfield Inn represents a great value, situated in a nice location for tourists. We would definably go back during our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeG_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear JoeG_52,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our hotel was a perfect fit for your visit to our Nation's Capital. Our location is excellent and we're thrilled to hear that you felt the same way. Thanks for commenting on our team as it's always great for me to be able to share our guests thoughts with our team.

I would love to take care of your next reservation in the city so please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rooms - Very nice, recently renovated, spacious. Room has connections for computer to hook up to TV monitor. The only downside is that if you get one of those rooms with a shared door, you will hear EVERYTHING in the adjacent room. On the second night of my five-night stay, I switched rooms at 1am in the morning. The guest next to me was not being loud, but I could hear every word she said while talking to her family, and I felt like I was invading her privacy (I knew this person who is a co-worker and talks normally; I felt uncomfortable being able to hear her conversations). Once I switched rooms to one without a shared door, I never heard a peep. The initial room had a nice view of a church, and the second room looked into an adjacent office building; however, I really don't care about the view.

Breakfast - Wonderful.

Location - Pretty close to perfect. There are tons of restaurants and things to do nearby.

Exercise Room - Small but decent. Three treadmills, two ellipticals, weights, and exercise balls.

Staff - Very good. I appreciated their help checking in. Breakfast staff was very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a shared door if you don't want to hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear arualpalm,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We are thrilled to hear that our hotel was a great fit for your visit. Our location is excellent and we're excited to hear that you felt the same way. Thanks for commenting on our team as it's always great for me to be able to share our guests thoughts with our team. I am sorry to hear that you had to change rooms late at night, but it sounds as if we were able to accommodate your request for a more quiet room. We appreciate your valuable feedback on the connecting doors, and will certainly do our best to correct this.

I would love to take care of your next reservation in the city so please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,299 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing