We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were a little hesitant to stay here at first because we wanted to make sure it was a safe area. We had a really good experience. It was a fun area to be in. We got a good taste of the city. Our room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was good and the eggs were hot and plentiful. I would stay here again. The only draw back was there was no parking out front when we went to check in. But it was great parking our car under the motel. We walked everywhere and didn't have to worry about our car.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    349
    98
    19
    8
See reviews for
252
173
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Came to DC for a baseball game with a large group of friends. Stayed one night here. We were pleasantly surprised at our accommodations. The hotel is very nice, appears to be recently renovated. Great security and the staff was very helpful and nice.
Location was perfect. We came early in the day and were able to check in quickly; did some site seeing then took the Metro to the ballgame. They include a fantastic breakfast that includes everything you can imagine. The next day we also did more site seeing as there are so many things to do and see. Just an all round terrific time. And the cost of the room was probably the biggest surprise. Don't hesitate to book at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor and had no complaints.
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't really have a lot to say about that. They did recycle.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PintoBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Location, Staff, Breakfast and Cleanliness - all 5*
*The Front Desk - everyone was so nice and happy to help if needed!! Wonderful greeting and check out experience!
*Valet service - immediate car service with a smile!
*Breakfast Buffet & Staff - FANTASTIC! The large assortment of food (BELGIAN WAFFLES made my kids smile!!) and drink was out of this world! So delicious! Mary was incredibly kind every morning, and always happy, and she made sure we had everything we needed! The breakfast buffet and nice people every morning, made our daily start to all of the attractions so pleasant and easy. WOW!!!!!
*Cleaning Staff - always very nice and helpful. Our room and bathroom, the hallways and the entire hotel were SO clean!!
*Location - you could not want any better!! Located just a few blocks from EVERYTHING! The Smithsonians, and from the US Capitol to the Washington Monument to the Lincoln memorial to the White House - it's all right there!!!! Every kind of restaurant, so close too!
*Free Wi fi!! Good, free Wi fi!
*Price!! FABULOUS!!
Thank you Fairfield Inn & Suites in Washington DC!!
You helped make our family vacation a GREAT vacation!!

Room Tip: King or 2 Queens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in this hotel. Very good and clean property, well managed. Staff was fantastic. It is in the heart of Chinatown, lots of restaurants around and waliking distance from the National Mall and the White House. Definetely a good choice for staying downtown DC

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvensavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
532 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We found the staff at this hotel to be extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was tastefully decorated, and seemed to be recently decorated. The bathroom was in excellent condition, with the exception of the bathroom sink, which had the hot and cold water reversed. The breakfast, which is complementary, offered many choices, including waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals, yogurt, and assorted breads and muffins. The location is just a couple blocks from a metro stop, making it easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisNCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Point, IA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in June. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city. The location is great--just a few short blocks to the Metro stop as well as a Circulator bus stop, and even a pretty easy walk to the Mall and White House area. The breakfast was better than expected. Yes, it gets busy, but that's to be expected, especially on the weekends. The room was very clean, and a good size for 4 of us. The attached restaurant/bar is pretty good--it's nice to relax on the patio with a drink after a long day of sightseeing.
Tip: though refrigerators are not standard in the room, they do have them. Just ask at the front desk, or, even better, when booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "church side" of the hotel. Otherwise you may be facing a dark alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dana82899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Washington, D.C. The location was about 2 blocks from a Metro stop, or a few block further on were the Smithsonian Museums and the Mall. The Verizon Arena was also nearby and many great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself was very clean, quiet, and the staff more than helpful. One night it was raining rather hard as we walked back to the hotel, and as we stepped into the lobby, there was a staff member handing out dry towels. The breakfast items were plentiful and hot, and the Irish pub next door also had a wonderful menu. The only complaint I can come up with was the bed was harder than I prefer, but that's just me. There were 4 of us staying in a room with 2 Queen size beds, and we all had plenty of room for our suitcases and ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,468 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Address: 500 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing