We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My family of four stayed here over the July 4th weekend to take part in all of the Washington DC festivities. The hotel was completely full and the staff did a nice job of keeping everything running smoothly. The price included a buffet breakfast, which of course was very crowded, but there were still choices for everyone! I really appreciated that the front desk offered complimentary cold water bottles as we headed out into the July heat.

The location was terrific for access to the National Mall, Museums, and 4th of July parade. Close to many, many great restaurants - lots of choices there.

Our room was the typical size for an urban hotel (a little on the small size), very clean and comfortable.

Overall, a really good value for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annie1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family (single mom with 19,18,12yr olds). It was in the middle of everything therefore you have access to everything. There are local restaurants steps outside the hotel. The museums and monuments are walking distance away as well. Also it close to Union Station for those guided tours.
The hotel staff were great very helpful. There is a restaurant/bar onsite. Walgreen is just 2 blocks away for those forgotten items or snacks.
The hotel was clean and fitting. This is a great location for a DC visit. Fyi taxi accessible.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When I leisurely travel to major metropolitan areas, I like to use taxis or rental cars only if I have to. As many reviewers have noted, this Fairfield Inn is located within a few blocks walking distance of the metro line. My wife and I took the Yellow Line from DCA in to the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro stop (~15 min.) and walked to the hotel in under 10 minutes. For those that like walking/jogging, the hotel is about a mile away from the White House and 2 miles from the Lincoln Memorial. We were able to get see both, the MLK Memorial, and make it back to the hotel in about 3 hours one morning. The hotel has well kept rooms and a decently stocked breakfast bar. For the price, I think its a great option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DevJ713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is great – stay here!

The location is perfect for sightseeing. It is very close to a large Metro Station, and you can walk to all of the typical Washington DC sites. There are restaurants nearby, and even a Corner Bakery next door. If you are attending an event at the Verizon Center – the location is ideal. I saw no sketchy people lingering near the hotel – so maybe that issue has been addressed. It’s right in China town, so the décor of the hotel fits with this motif.

The staff were all very warm and friendly. The individuals at the check-in desk were great. The concierge was helpful, and always greeted us warmly after a long day of sightseeing. There are no snack or soda machines in the building, but there is a small “store” with overpriced items. If you want a drink or snack for your room – I recommend stopping at a nearby convenience store before retiring at the hotel for the night.

The breakfast staff were the best – they even offered to bring breakfast to our room one morning because a large tour group would be staying at the hotel limiting the seating in the small breakfast area. The breakfast did get crowded – the line to make your own waffle was always long. But the rest of the area was ok. The generally offered eggs (ok – not real eggs, whatever that egg-stuff is that free buffets offer), sausage, bacon, cereals, muffins, bagels, English muffins, juices, coffee, milk, etc. It was definitely enough to get your day started.

The room had a refrigerator and upon check in the staff asked if we would like a microwave as well. We said yes, and one was immediately delivered to our room. I guess microwaves are only available upon request.

The room was a decent size. There is no table – but a desk with a single chair. It’s modern and very, very clean. It was also very quiet. The beds were comfortable. The air conditioner worked well. The lobby always had ice water, coffee, and tea for guests to enjoy.

You need a key card to ride up in the elevator (but not to go down) which is a nice security feature of the hotel.

You can’t go wrong with this hotel – it’s a gem of a hotel in the middle of our nation’s capital.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We loved the location. Very close to a metro station if you want public transportation but we walked everywhere. Close to Ford's Theatre. I wasn't fond of the parking situation. You have to valet so you're unloading everything out of your car on the curb. But it wasn't too bad just not my preference. The staff was wonderful! Breakfast buffet was crowded but a staff member helped us find a table large enough for our family. The girl at valet was so nice. She gave us restaurant suggestions and assured us we didn't have to rush when we first got there and were unloading the car. I really liked the fact tat you had to use your room key even to access the elevator~ it made me feel safe. Really liked this hotel. Not the largest room but it worked for us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my nephew on vacation at the end of June to Washington DC and we took a side trip by train to Baltimore. This location hits three really big concerns: 1) cleanliness 2) value 3) location.
Our room was beyond clean. I am picky and check everything upon entering hotel rooms. I could not find a single thing wrong - what a relief. The bathroom was spotless, the carpets clean and the maid service kept it that way for the entire 5 night stay.
The value for this hotel is also outstanding. Compare it to others in the area and you will soon see what I am talking about. Nice breakfast included every morning.
Easy walk to the major tourist sites and to Union Station for a train trip. Also just a block or two to the Metro which we used a couple of times.
The staff is also very accomodating. We arrived early for check-in, but they held our luggage at the front desk and even honored our request for a certain type of room. We were also greeted every time we went through the lobby. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was the first time i stayed at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I was delighted to know how close i was to all sites. The room was clean and nice and the employees were a delighTt as well. The HR/Accounting Manager, Ms.Terri Smithson is truly a gem. Any concerns you may have she will address immediately. The staff is very helpful as well. I will advise that, a sweater is needed when staying there as the air conditioner is king.

For those who smoke, know that you must be totally away from the entrance. This applies to everywhere you visit in the Washington, DC area. Most places require you to be 100 feet away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PGTStJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
478 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown

Address: 500 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2620 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown is a newly renovated Chinatown DC hotel that offers comfort and convenience for the busy business and leisure traveler. We provide quality accommodations and value our guests who are visiting our National’s Capital for work or pleasure. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services and amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. We offer the following services and amenities: 198 elegant and functional guest rooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel, and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24-hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch and dinner, and offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood and in proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing