We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economico alternative in expensive town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Economico alternative in expensive town”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Rooms are small, but we got a nice view to the plaza. Clean and tidy, plus excellent attention and information from the staff. A good option to stay in an expensive city as Washington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyllop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    464
    172
    73
    46
See reviews for
152
321
150
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I spent 3 nights here Nov 7-10. It was an easy check-in. Went straight to my room and was surprised how small the room was. I love the complimentary water that was available, and that I could fill as many bottles as I wanted. The window in my room has a broken seal and was clouded up - but the view was only the office buildings across the street. I felt safe in the area. There's a Starbucks a block away. The Farragut station light rail is right next to this hotel which is convenient. There's a variety of restaurants or delis not far away - but I don't think many are open late. It is only two blocks to the Whitehouse, and also not far from the GWU district. There is a lot of emergency vehicle siren noise, and the first night there is a loud nightclub somewhere in the area. I didn't have any problem sleeping though.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homebody0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Club Quarters. After a brief housekeeping issue (which was resolved within minutes) we headed to the adjoining restaurant because were given 2 vouchers to enjoy an appetizer and a drink for our trouble. The place had a busy, lively vibe and we got our food quickly and were amazed at how big the portions were. I was very impressed with the eco friendly attitude in the hotel. We were informed at the front desk that everything is recycled in the hotel. On each floor was a station with clean plastic bottles with lids and purified water. It was heaven to not have to purchase $6 bottles of Evian from the room when we wanted some non-tap water. The vending machines were very affordable...prices were not jacked up just because we were in a hotel. We were also pleased to see that the hotel offered a delivery service for many of the neighborhood eateries. The prices were not inflated, were right off the restaurant's menu, and were delivered in the time it would take room service to come. This was impressive!!

I would recommend calling ahead for parking info before you arrive if you plan to come by car. We got to the hotel late and very few garages were open. We had to stop in the hotel to ask for information and were given a pamphlet explaining where to park, rates, etc...
Skip the breakfast buffet a the restaurant. Its over-priced and the food is mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonescrew_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were really happy with this hotel; it is central to many different modes of transport, two blocks from the White House and overlooking a park. The hotel staff were always courteous and the room, although small, was decorated nicely & very comfortable. This hotel seemed to me to be an ideal business travellers hotel – perhaps why the rooms seemed to be perfect for one person. We managed with two big suitcases fine although it may be small if you’re travelling with a family. There is a bar attached & a restaurant and it’s close to many different bar & dining options. We’d recommend this hotel and we would stay here again on return to Washington.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

As noted by others, the rooms in this hotel are small, but the location is excellent and the hotel is very clean, modern, and safe. As a woman who travels alone on business regularly, the clean and safe are important. Plus the location cannot be beat if you need to be near the the Farragut area. It's convenient to the Metro and you can easily reach Reagan Airport from the hotel. There aren't tons of quick, inexpensive restaurants nearby, but I've never had a problem finding dinner during the week.

Room Tip: higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

At $180 per night, I was very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are small, even by European standards. The beds are standard full size beds, which do not work for my 6"3" frame. And, if you are traveling with a companion, I hope the two of you are real cozy. I have seen bigger shower stalls on cruise ships. Overall, I was disappointed with the Club Quarters in Washington, DC and will avoid staying there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed at Club Quarters in October for three nights. You can't really beat the location for easy access to the sights of D.C. It is two blocks from the White House and a short walk to all of the museums and monuments on the Mall. As others have noted, it is right above the Farragut West Metrorail station. You can take the train from Reagan National to the hotel for under $3 compared to a $40 or $50 cab or shuttle. Be sure and take the 17th Street Exit (towards the front of the train) and the hotel is right there.

I stayed on the second floor where the Club Room is. There are computers to print out boarding passes and coffee and fruit available as well as filtered water and a refillable bottles. You can order drinks and snacks from the Club Room as well in the evening.

I stayed in a standard room with a double bed. The room was clean and comfortable, but very tiny (almost dorm room sized). The bathroom only had a shower. Other than that, the room has the basics: free wireless Internet access, basic cable with HBO, in room coffee and a clock radio you can plug your MP3 player into.

The hotel offers room service from the restaurant on the first floor, but you can also order off menus from several neighborhood restaurants and have it delivered to your room for a nominal $2.50 charge.

My room faced Farragut Square so there was a great deal of street noise. I even saw what I think was a Presidential motorcade zooming up 17th towards the White House.

If you want ice, you need to take the elevator to the lower level (only one of the two elevators goes there however). It is also the same level as the workout room. Be forewarned, there are only three machines in the workout room: a treadmill, a stationary bike and a stair machine. The hotel offers to deliver machines to your room, but I never tried that service. I'm not sure where they would put the machines, however, since the rooms are so small.

All in all, Club Quarters seems a fair value for business travelers, especially for D.C.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor facing away from Farragut Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3940
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing