We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great except for parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Ranked #84 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great except for parking”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The stay would have been perfect except for the parking. It was not located on-site, you had to walk 2.5 blocks to get to the garage. You also must get your parking ticket validated at the hotel, something we forgot about. So, after waiting in line for 30 minutes just to pay for the parking (there were only about 6 people in front of us), we then had to go back to the hotel, then come back to the parking garage and wait another 20 minutes. They WILL NOT accept your check-out statement as proof and there is no automated machine, as you have to give your keys to the attendant. All-in-all, it took us over an hour to get the car, not at all helped by the fact that the attendant working at the garage took ridiculously long to process each person. He was an older man, and a younger person could have done his job in about 1/3 of the time (no lie.). Club Quarters, please find a new system for parking. This one is very inconvenient and time-consuming. If not for the lengthy process just to get the car, the stay would have been perfect!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kelsabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    455
    166
    73
    43
See reviews for
147
313
148
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Whenever I travel to DC for work I like to stay at Club Quarters. Others I work with prefer the larger hotels but I like the coziness of the place. Service is quite good, and the rooms are very comfortable. Not huge but I'm always there alone and it works for me. I like the automated check in and check out, too. Very close to our office, and right above the metro station. Also very close to the White House and the Mall. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is showing its age but it's fine. We had a couple of problems: The AC did not work the first night and the room was very stuffy and the bathroom light would go out randomly. The next day they fixed both problems. The location can't be beat though, you're right behind the White House and a short walk from most museums and monuments. However, I would not stay here again since we didn't get any sleep at all. The noise outside is unbelievable. I can sleep through most anything but the non-stop sirens, the night club across the street, the loud drunks walking around, all make for a very loud environment. It's too bad, we loved the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived late for check in. We had to park on the street a few blocks away because there is no parking facility after midnight. We requested twin beds but got Queen bed with a layaway bed instead. The layaway bed is a type which you will have a backache afterward! Be warn, if you get a street facing room it is super noisy with a club across the street and tons of police siren. We had a terrible night and had to ask to move to an inner room and of course extra earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piglet-yorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I reviewed many hotels in the area for a one night stay along the way to NYC and figured this would be the best price for a hotel where I would only shower change and sleep in that was also within walking distance to the reflecting gardens where I knew I would be eager to take a run in the AM!!

Overall, this hotel has everything you'd need: a clean room, purified drinking water, hot shower & stairs for easy access (avoid the elevator, so slow)!

The front desk agent on the day I checked-in seemed eager to get off his shift & even ended our phone call as I was mid sentence confirming the location of an over night parking space -- $32 (found ourselves) The check-in process took almost an hour after having to switch rooms twice (there are none with 2 queens, so settle for a queen room and rollaway)!

Other than the hotel bar not having the bottle of wine we wanted (listed but not available) and the rude front desk agent, the hotel was just average! We were in DC for all of 18 hours so didn't spend much time in the hotel, just for the essentials...

I would recommend this hotel for only 1 night & encourage guests to have a clear understanding of where to park before heading to the hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skoski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place blew away any expectations. Beautiful hotel and the customer service was not to be beaten. Torie, Cari, Kaycee, Behailu and many others made this the perfect stay...PERFECT...come here...stay here....you'll love it!
Thanks Bill Bokstein

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at this property on business recently and was very pleased. The room was spacious - with a small kitchen area, dining table and separate sleeping area. My room was on the 2nd floor, so I could see all of the street activity below. I will say the room was very clean, which was more than I expected from walking in the hallway.

After my business meetings, I decide to walk around the area and noticed it was close to a number of attractions. I will certainly stay here again during whether for business or pleasure.

When booking, be sure to ask for the weekend rate (it can be different than what is listed on travel sites) and note that parking is not directly on-site (a couple of blocks away) but not terribly inconvenient.

Room Tip: When booking, be sure to ask for the weekend rate - if appropriate (it can be different than what is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitchella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3940
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing