We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Textile Museum in the George Washington University Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass
Ranked #133 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exhibits focus on the cloth-making process as well as on the role textiles play in various cultures.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish I lived here”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The museum is in a great neighborhood - so beautiful. The current exhibits were so-so. There are pictures of when the museum was a family's home - nice ! Wish I lived there. The gift shop has some really cool and cute items. The staff in the museum and the shop were very cordial and pleasant and helpful.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jane2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting!"”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was not keen about going here, but actually found it to be most interesting. First, as it is a residential area, free parking is available in front of the building. Admission is "suggested" to be $8. There were fascinating displays with the history of fabrics from all around the world. An interactive room where one can try to spin thread from wool, tie knots, weave, etc. was fun and unexpected. We planned to spend 45 minutes, but ended up being there 1 1/2 hours. It was not at all a "geeky girl museum" I thought it would be. Definitely recommended.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LoveVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a fascinating place to visit.”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

If you have any interest at all in fabrics, fashion, or craft, you need to visit the Textile Museum near Dupont Circle. They currently (through March 13, 2011) have an amazing exhibit called Colors of the Oasis: Cental Asian Ikats. There is a large display of Ikat robes, and each one is incredible. Ikats, we found out, are made by tying the threads onto frames, wrapping some so the dye doesn't penetrate, and dyeing them repeatedly in different colors. The resulting patterns make you realize how much time this must have taken, and what creative craftspeople the dyers and weavers were. We have seen previous great exhibits here, but this one is truly remarkable.

The other great thing about the Textile Museum is their gift shop, which is crammed with all kinds of delightful scarves, wraps, jackets, accessories, books, and so on at lots of price points. I can never leave without a treasure I've found!

Helpful?
1 Thank GardenLover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,955 reviews
1,077 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,909 helpful votes
“Interesting small museum in great old DC mansion”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This museum is a few doors from the Woodrow Wilson home in DC. When we visited it had a very good exhibit for 1950s colorful designs and textiles by 3 famous female designers of that time and some interesting historical textiles from such places as China, Mexico, etc. The musem can be seen in an hour or two and the building is a great old mansion. Much of it has been modernized, but the front and the rear show how grand is was.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My wife and I visited the museum in May 2009. They were presenting a special exhibition of Amish quilts, along with their regular offerings. The museum is housed in a very large older home, a moderate walk in the hilly part of town from the nearest Metro stop. (point of curiosity, it's located right next door to the embassy of Burma (a.k.a., the Myanmar dictators). Note to the mobility impaired, the museum is *not* accessible, with lots of steps and staircases, though open and flat on each of two floors.
The Amish exhibition was interesting, with perhaps 25 different quilts representing different Amish groups and eras. They also offered an interesting video on Amish history and society, both past and present.
The second floor was a stable display from their collection, which is mostly Asian in origin. They also provide an interesting room with hands-on exhibits on the technology and techniques of weaving, as well as the different fibers used.
They displayed items are quite well presented, with good information about the pieces on plaques nearby.
There is an interesting shop with plenty of hand crafts and books for sale. There is also an interesting interior garden. Photography is not allowed in the galleries.
Overall, it was an interesting visit and places you in a part of town with excellent restaurant choices back at Connecticut Avenue when you are finished. I would allow two hours for the museum.

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Textile Museum in the George Washington University Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Textile Museum in the George Washington University Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing