We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path”

National Museum of Health & Medicine
Ranked #105 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, created after the Civil War, has several exhibits displaying gruesome injuries from the battlefield and detailing some of the medical techniques used.
Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great museum that shares military medicine techniques and basic anatomy. The exhibits are phenomenal. Smaller and quieter facility. Eight year old grandson was fascinated by the exhibits. Great way to tone back the day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank penntrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Yes, you have to walk a bit to get there. It's a museum of HEALTH, after all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We live in NW DC near the National Zoo. We hopped in a Car2Go and drove 17 minutes to the intersection of Primrose Rd NW and Sudbury Rud NW in DC. We parked the Car2Go on Sudbury, just about 100 feet from the DC-Maryland border. (With Car2Go, you could just drive it to MD, but you'd have to continue to pay for your trip while it's parked there! If you park in DC you can "end your trip" and stop paying for the car!)

From the car, we used Google Maps to take a pleasant 2 mile walk through a quiet residential neighborhood to the museum. I recommend you walk north on Grubb Rd, take a right on Washington Ave, continue on Sundale Dr, zigzag over the train tracks on Talbot Ave, swing a left on 3rd Ave, then Warren St, then left on Linden, then you're there! It's not as complicated as it sounds -- just Google Nav it, but this route is the most residential and very quiet with nice sidewalks all the way there.

Total Car2Go cost roundtrip was $16, which certainly is more expensive than the metro or bus, but very convenient! The point is, there's no reason to complain that it's not near a metro stop. Whether you take Car2Go, or the bus, or the metro, you won't have to walk more than a couple miles to get there!

Exercise, people!! You are going to a museum of HEALTH after all!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrickmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth the time if you are interested in health & medicine. No nearby Metro stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We accessed via the Silver Springs Metro Red Line. We discovered (after walking longer than necessary) that Bus #4 takes you from Metro stop to/from the bus stop directly in front of this museum. At a cost of $2 each way.

Exhibits are interesting for young adults/adults interested in human anatomy and history of medicine.

We were short on time and viewed everything in about 45 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THIS IS NOT IN DC!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

2500 Linden Lane, Silver Spring, MD 20910 is the correct address

Trip Advisor City is incorrect, street adderess and phone are correct

Please plan your visit accordingly

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We took the whole family....it was fascinating. If you like Medicine, history, or CSI type investigations, there is something there for you. The most interesting thing for me was the extensive Civil War samples.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elsie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Health & Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Health & Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing