We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of 1905

1905
Reserve with OpenTable
1905 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,017 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: U Street Corridor
Cross street: 9th Street NW between T Street NW & U Street NW
Transit: Less than 2 blocks from the U Street Metrorail stop, and 4 blocks from the Shaw/Howard Metrorail stop - both on the Green/Yellow lines.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

A very cozy and alive place to experience novel dishes and combinations of flavors. The tuna tartare (appetizer) and venison stew (main course) were to die for. The wine list, although not very long, boasts thoughtful selections that are also reasonably priced. Service was good as well. I would go again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank leanbureaucrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia
1 review
“Continues to impress...”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This most recent dine was with a group of eight friends on 1905's best night: Wednesday Burger Night --- mmm! Everything was great -- fried Chesapeake oysters and tuna tartar to start and then burgers all around. Our server, Megan, was perfectly attentive and was able to keep track of nine people's drinks without being reminded what we had. The food was timely and nothing came too fast or too slow -- and it was delicious! 1905 continues to be a hidden gem on U St!! Don't rely on opentable to know if you can get in -- for some reason opentable shows them as always booked but when you call they can always seat you with no wait.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This cute restaurant, is cozy...verging on cramped.
Unfortunately, despite our reservation, our table was not ready. Not a problem, as we managed to have a drink at the bar in order for our table to become available.
The tables are close together, so trying to have a private conversation is hard. Thankfully, no-one would want to listen to our boring talks anyway!
Food was good, but not amazing. I would go more for the atmosphere.
Good experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uber-chic - like a bistro in New Orleans”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Thanks to Living Social, I decided to venture to U Street with my college pals for a special night out of the Virginia suburbs, and am glad we did.

Food was creative -- I had a yummy half-avocado with a whole grain mustard sauce that melted in my mouth. My friends each had dishes they enjoyed immensely.

Dessert was just two options: chocolate gelato and a bread pudding, so don't look forward to creative desserts.

The atmosphere was as if I stumbled upon a trendy cool bistro in New Orleans -- dark, velvet, very romantic. However the noise was near deafening....we were all yelling to hear each other speak in the small dining room.

Food was expensive - $16 for a hamburger -- yet my friends enjoyed it so much there were no complaints. I was glad to have the coupon to take $50 off the tab (which paid for our bottle of wine.)

Our server was patient and the host was cordial (and even let us play tourist by taking our photos.)

I rarely venture out of Arlington suburbs but this was worth the trip to up-and-coming U St. I'd rec'd it for a special night out -- and for those looking for a intimate dinner/bar venue.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“They're not playing around!”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We went to 1905 with a gift certificate while on our way to another event and weren't sure what to expect. The previous reviewer's description of the atmosphere is spot in. Early 20th century American and French soft jazz music permeate the air along with velvety, soft lighting. We had excellent service and loved everything we put in our mouths. The menu is definitely pricey for a quick after work dinner- but we went with their lowest end items - cottage fries appetizer, cheeseburger with brie and mushrooms, and the lamb sandwich. OMG - delicious - shockingly delicious. We weren't expecting much, and were more than pleasantly surprised. We will definitelty plan a return when we are in the market for a high end dinner and would feel very confident recommending 1905 to out of town visitors and foodies.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laure_Starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1905 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing