We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in a sketchy neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1905

1905
Reserve with OpenTable
1905 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #987 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: U Street Corridor
Cross street: 9th Street NW between T Street NW & U Street NW
Transit: Less than 2 blocks from the U Street Metrorail stop, and 4 blocks from the Shaw/Howard Metrorail stop - both on the Green/Yellow lines.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Oasis in a sketchy neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent rooftop bar. The bartenders know their stuff. Only caveat- if you come here for the DC fireworks, set up your DVD player. There is a giant tree which blocks the view. Great subliminal effects, but not so great if you really want to see the fireworks. That said, it was still an excellent spot for a barbecue dinner on the 4th.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Neighborhood joint that's worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

1905 seems like a neighborhood spot. Located upstairs in the Logan Circle (?) area. Nice beer selection. Southern inspired menu. Food and service delivered with personality and warmth. Decorated with eclectic mix of furniture. A nice counterpoint to the slick, business-centric restaurants that populate DC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGooseLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I don't know why this place has such reviews on Tripadvisor. There is nothing special there. Service is OK. The place itself is quite old. The food is, again, OK at best. Nothing special. The size of the courses are small compared to many other restaurants in the States. The decoration of the place and the place itself is in desperate need of renovation. Ok, but would not recommend at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a quaint and yummy find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went for an early dinner on a Saturday...6pm reservation...and we the first ones there. We got a great seat on the main dining level, at the front of the restaurant in the bay window. We were cozy and had a great view of the patrons as they came in, as well as of the streetscape below. The staff was warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The drink menu is creative with many house-designed drinks made to order, as well as a fairly extensive wine and beer menu. The food menu was limited to about 10 appetizers and 10 entrees, all of which sounded wonderful! We were served fresh cornmeal/fruit mini-muffins, which were quite tasty. Our friends started their meal with the lobster meatballs, which came two to and order. They were slightly larger than the size of a golf ball, and were devoured instantly, so I can only assume they were delish! The four entrees that were ordered were the Lamb Sandwich (verdict: it was good, lamb was shredded, which was unusual, but the taste was good, and it may have been better with a bit more cheese). The Burger (verdict: so moist and full of taste! The mushrooms must have been grilled into the burger, because they were not on top. The brie was a great compliment and added a nice creamy texture to the juicy burger. A definite recommendation!) The side of fries tasted as if the oil may have been burnt or rancid, but the idea was great. The potato gnocchi was a perfect portion and perfectly done! The crab cakes looked moist and sizable. All in all great service and great food!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy, but otherwise delicious & pleasantly unusual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Checked it out for the first time for Restaurant Week. From the outside, it would be easy to pass by & never notice it above a liquor store, but the inside was neat - a little bit on the elegant side but kind of old-looking... like a haunted Victorian house without the creepiness (if that makes any sense). We were happy to see some favorites on the menu for both of us - he got shrimp & steak, and I got avocado & gnocchi. Dessert was the best chocolate mousse I've ever had - not light & milky, but thick and dark - yum! Our waitress was pleasant & upbeat. The only downside was that it was kind of noisy - but it was late on a Friday, so I guess we shouldn't have been surprised that it was packed. If you're in the mood for a nice dining experience that is a little different than the norm, check out 1905.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1905 also viewed

 

Been to 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing