We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectual delight”
Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Guided Tour of Washington DC
Ranked #27 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Architectual delight”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful and majestic from the outside. I'm sure its on the top of the list for the most photographed building in DC. I took enough pics of it and from various angels.
I was hyped about seeing the interior, however the Rotunda is under construction and there was little else of interest to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    782
    194
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Historic and impressive”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were very disappointed to discover that the Rotunda was closed during our visit. They were erecting safety netting in preparation for renovation work. This meant the tour we took was extremely short. We did find the short film before the tour to be excellent and we were lucky that we met a very helpful employee who told us where we could go to obtain tickets that allowed us enter the viewing areas of the Senate and House of Representatives. This helped save our visit from total disaster.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Had to email our congressman and submit our information to arrange for a tour, had to arrive early to get through security, went to the exhibition (the best part) prior to our tour time. The tour was a short movie and the shuffled through a three rooms in the visitor center (it's a huge bldg and I don't even think we were in any part of the actual bldg - just the visitor center). No explanation and took 20 minutes for the entire tour. When we asked if we could see any parts of the Capitol that are actually used, we were told we'd have to walk over to our congressman's office and get separate tickets for that. Left the Capitol, went through security at their office, got the tickets, back to the Capitol, back through security there, went to go back in for the senate and house tours and was told the tours were over for the day. What??? It was 4:13 pm. Apparently the bldg closes at 4:30, and the tours stop at 4:15. When we pointed out it was 4:13 and how we had just run around to get these other tickets, the answer was no. There was no one behind us, it would have been easy for them to let us do the tour. SO annoyed about the whole process!! We probably spoke to 3 different tour guides about getting these additional tickets, plus 2 different people in our congressman's office and not ONE of them mentioned to us that the tours stop at 4:15.
Bottom line, don't waste your time on the tours. Just go in the bldg and to the exhibition.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tour felt like a cattle roundup”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Don't waste your time on a tour while the rotunda and statuary hall are being remodeled. The tour consists of a movie and being literary herded from room to room with no guide explaining anything. We left about 1/4 into the roundup

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank maggieamaya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
713 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“I'm glad I got to see it.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The place is so Al'some I went to Washington, D.C. With a class trip and they stopped here and everything in it was so cool

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing