We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-notch theater in downtown DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakespeare Theatre Company

Shakespeare Theatre Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shakespeare Theatre Company produces and presents award-winning plays in its two venues in downtown Washington D.C., attracting many theatre-goers from D.C., Maryland, Virginia and from around the world. As a non-profit arts organization our education programs bring classical theatre experiences, critical discussions and vital academic resources into area schools and communities. We also host a number of other arts organizations who perform world class dance, music, and much more.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top-notch theater in downtown DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have attended a variety of productions at this theater over the past few years. There is not a bad seat in the house - the space is intimate but attractive. Each production offers an innovative twist, from "Merchant of Venice" set in old-time New York, to "Measure for Measure" in 1930s Vienna. Casting, sets, and production quality are all uniformly excellent. The location is also terrific, very close to a Metro station and many terrific restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Set was spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in D.C., so decided to take in a show. Saw Measure for Measure, which was not my favorite Shakespeare play, but the actors and set designers outdid themselves. Enjoyed the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marieeddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I love this venue! Shows are not JUST Shakespeare, so if you are not a fan of his work, you can still catch another show. The atmosphere is great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mooreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
662 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“More a venue review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We came here because the Shakespeare Theater Company was offering the Potted Potter show, fresh from New York off Broadway. We were in the nosebleed seats but had a good view of the stage. The acoustics were good and our only problem was that some of the British humour went over our heads.

The theater was easy to get to, we chose to drive and parked in the LAZ garage they recommended. The only issues (which the theater was not responsible for) was that they locked the doors to the elevator and I had to fetch the car for the handicapped member of the party. It is also accessible by Metro, it is just South of the Verizon center. The theater had elevators and handrails so we had no problems with getting to our seats.

Great venue and we would consider going back to see a home grown play.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin A, Public Relations Manager at Shakespeare Theatre Company, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We're glad you visited! Sorry about the problems with the LAZ garage. Thankfully we're in the midst of getting an elevator installed that goes from the garage directly into our theatre lobby. That way we'll have more control of garage access and won't have to rely on third-parties. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We attended a performance of Much Ado About Nothing and thought the quality ranked on a level with the best Shakespeare we have seen anywhere - regional, New York, London and Stratford-upon-Avon. And to make it even more impressive, it was part of their "Free for All" program -- so free. Certainly encourage others to attend this company's performances.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJES75225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing