We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“national cathedral is a kind of a secret beautiful place”

Washington National Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #17 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Gothic-style cathedral is the sixth largest in the world and is put to all sorts of national purposes, such as President Wilsons funeral and a prayer vigil for American hostages during the Iranian crisis.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“national cathedral is a kind of a secret beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

A place we went to on our last time in D C was the national cathedral. Its close to Georgetown and embassy row so if your in that area you should make this little trip if you're interested in going to a beautiful peaceful historic place. No charge just drive up and park. We had our dog and that was fine . There is a beautiful garden you can stroll through ( the bells were playing while we were there about 45 minutes , very beautiful) Also there are some trails you can walk through adjoining the cathedral. Its a beautiful location and a nice little quick side trip if your in d c .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,870
    459
    123
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great "Hidden Gem" in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you have already covered all the usual suspects in DC, I highly recommend the National Cathedral. I am DC resident and bring all our guests here because it's a bit of a hidden gem - it's always quiet and peaceful and great for any weather (since it's indoors). Oh, and it's free (well, they have a suggested donation, but it's up to you what you want to give)! It really does look like one of the huge cathedrals you would see in Europe. If you go, definitely go up the elevator to the viewing area - it affords great 360 views. And, if the weather is nice, check out the lovely, charming garden around the side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan8178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was a very interesting visit to a beautiful gothic church. Highly recommend doing the docent tour. Check schedule before going. Also would like to go again and hear a choir or musical event.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ncircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Catherdral”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very big but a bit too new for us. Did not feel like a huge amount of history happened there. Expensive to get into. Lovely grounds and gardens with a great sense of peace.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was really quite special. Definitely go if only to see the stunning windows. I especially loved the space window, which houses a small rock from the moon.
It's a beautiful cathedral, and very moving
The organs were playing while we were there and the sound was amazing
There's some restoration going on at the moment but don't let that stop you!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smiletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles F, Acting Director, Visitor Programs at Washington National Cathedral, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks very much for visiting! The windows really are some of the jewels of the Cathedral. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington National Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Washington National Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing