We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“While there, see "Swing TIme - The Musical" at their Burke theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center

United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.99*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
Ranked #97 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A statue of The Lone Sailor peers over this memorial, which consists of a plaza bearing a granite world map flanked by waterfalls and fountains. The heritage center contains exhibits on naval history.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
387 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“While there, see "Swing TIme - The Musical" at their Burke theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Right at Archives Metro stop. Outdoor exhibit has beautiful carvings. Indoor has lots of Coast Guard history and many other things I didn't get to see. We bought tickets online to see Swing Time -- the Musical there. It's ongoing through July then starting again in September. Cast of six, plus 3 musicians, music from the 40s done very well, set to a story of a war bonds radio campaign and the personalities on the show. Entertaining, superb musicianship, this group seems mostly in their 20s or so, all with considerable theater/music backgrounds, including one opera performer (he plays the roguish VInce who gets drafted into the Army midway through). This is "my mom's music", and she loved it, so did I. The producer has been part of Capitol Steps.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    56
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
257 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice enough open space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Conveniently located between the spy museum and Archives, this is a place to look at a world map and maybe sit down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best public display of our Navies Heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visit the Memorial every time I'm in the DC area. The courtyard is the real attraction with the water feature, historical depictions, and the like, an incredible display. The reliefs around the outside in particular. Each is slightly different in style, but each is very compelling in the story they tell about a specific naval discipline. The majority of the Heritage Center is downstairs, underground via a entrance in a building behind the fountain memorial. It's not a big center but it's well represented.

Several times a year they have special exhibits displaying the heritage of the Navy and during my visit the display honored the Navy Chiefs and was very well done. There's a large "ship's store" (Navy speak for gift shop) with a nice selection of memorabilia selling thoughtful, high quality souvenirs.

One of the main features is the wall of plaques, a display of Men, Women, Ships, Crews and Squadrons who have plaques dedicated to their service and history. The Navy Log room has touch-screen kiosks to register and search for Sea Service members and veterans; you can also add in names if they are not listed, of people you know. There are also several large exhibits, to look at as well, a library and a large theater for special events and showings.

All in all, a very worthwhile visit and Highly recommended way to spend an hour or so if in Washington DC. It is behind the National Archives, adjacent to the Archives/Navy Museum Metro stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Battle of Medway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was privileged to be there on the 72nd memorial on The Battle Of Medway. It was a beautiful poignant moment when the Star Spangled Banner was being played. It definitely bought a tear to my eye and a lump to my throat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYCBabeRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice memorial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice memorial... Duck floating on the water. Well done... like a boat with bronze sculptures. As you walk to the Capitol, it's a nice place to relax in the sun...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing