We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, fun nightlife, helpful staff”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The best place to stay in DC. The location is perfect. Right next to the White House and the Treasury if you are in town begging for a bailout from Geithner.

Rooftop bar is best in the summertime. But stays open in the winter with heaters. Highly recommend this spot. Romantic place.

Staff is Great in this hotel. Whitney was awesome. Got me tons of extra pillows with a smile. Get here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheesedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,287)
There are newer reviews for W Washington D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The W is one of the best locations in the District - near the Mall and the White House. The rooms are typical "W Hotel" rooms - modern, yet comfortable. I travel to DC and this is the top of my list. I have two gripes - the lobby bar and the roof bar. The lobby bar has limited supplies, and I have had to send back a drink on two separate occasions. The bartenders are not the A-Team. The roof bar used to be a cool, comfortable and non-fussy place to get a good drink with a spectacular view. Now, tables are all reserved, the music is too loud and the vibe doesn't vibe with the serene look out over the White House and the Mall. Plastic wrap ruins the view. Nice update to the hotel; terrible update to the bars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights and from the moment I checked in the staff couldn't do enough for me, from upgrading my room to free internet so I could stay in touch with my daughter. I was greeted every day on my way out of the hotel and back in every night by both the door man and the reception staff.

The room was excellent always clean and tidy, it included an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe.

The whatever/whenever function was great, they answered quickly and were always helpful and cheerful. They organised getting my suit steamed and back to be inside of an hour and free of charge. When I had an issue with noisey neighbours they responded immediately and the following morning arranged to move me to another room all without any fuss.

My overall experience of this hotel was amazing. I travel a lot on business all over the world and for me to say a hotel is amazing it must be.

I can't wait to go back next month for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a wonderful visit to DC and the W was the perfect location. Right next to the White house and an easy walk to most of the Museums. The view from the roof is amazing, especially at night! WOW! on Saturday night the top floor had a DJ and for those much younger than my wife and I had a blast. We got to bed early every night and enjoyed the town durring the day. Clean nice hotel. Our King size be took up alot of space in the room but the bath was huge. The carpet could use a little cleaning by the door but otherwise it was in perfect shape and the staff was very friendly. Free coffee in the lobby. They will take you in a car for free after 11am within 5 miles. If you rather take a cab they will hail one for you. Don't bother renting a car, no need, and parking in DC is a nightmare. I would def stay here again, wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceKoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel staff was fantastic, from upgrading our room to arranging a ride in the Acura car service. They live the Whatever/Whenever motto. The location speaks for itself (adjacent to the WH grounds). Great spot for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed with a friend and was a really cool hotel. Favorite part was the Acura SUV that drove us around when we requested for it ahead of time. Service was good and the hotel seemed new. My only complaint, which isnt bad at all, the showers are frosted and not completely blocked off so it's a little strange when staying with a buddy, but overall 5 stars, will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS_Traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very nice hotel, funky ambiance, rooftop has best view in DC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £164 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing