We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lobby bar at The W Hotel - *not* the POV”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Have been to the POV bar at The W in Washington DC many times, and never really rate it very highly (nice for visitors during the day though). However had never really hung out in the bar in the lobby. Went there one night at around 9.30pm and it was a great atmosphere. Plenty of people, though not rediculously crowded - a reasonable number of sofas to sit on and some live music. That night it was a singer / guitarist who was very good, played music to fit the 20 -40 something atmosphere perfectly.

Drinks however, although good, are usual W prices - $15 to $17 per cocktail. But worth dropping in for an hour or so if youre on your way somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjc200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hello sjc200,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you came to our Living Room Bar to enjoy a night of cocktails and music. Our bar becomes popular in the evenings with a fun energetic crowd. On Friday and Saturday nights we bring in live music to help you enjoy your weekend. We hope to welcome you back soon for another handcrafted cocktail.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,287)
There are newer reviews for W Washington D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,484 - 1,490 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spent many happy evenings at the Hotel Washington roof deck bar when I worked in DC years ago. There is no better place to have a drink on a hot night, overlooking the monuments, the White House, and Treasury. I recently returned with my family to show them DC for the first time. The Hotel Washington is now the W Washington Hotel. The good news is that the place has been spruced up, which it needed. The bad news is that it now has a lot more attitude. To begin with, nobody under 21 is allowed on the deck after 5pm. Makes sense from a revenue generation perspective, but stinks for people like me, trying to share great experiences with their children. But what really bugged me was the staff attitude. Years ago, everyone was pretty cool here -- a throwback to pre-air conditioning DC. Now everyone on staff seems to aspire to a transfer to W South Beach in Miami. Be prepared to have your blood pressure rise. That said, the view is still great, and a drink there is well worth the hassle it now (sadly) entails.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TC415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hello TC415,

Thank you so much for your review. We do have the perfect view from our rooftop deck to enjoy a night cocktail. We are so happy you came back to revisit the hotel with your family after we re-opened. We would like to apologize for the service you received. We will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address our service culture. We hope you will come visit us again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Check-in was quick and easy. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the WOW suite - very appreciated for our first time at the hotel! I can't find anything at fault with this hotel and had some of my best sleeps there. I will be back again very shortly and can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello Edward H,

Thank you for the review from your stay. We are so happy you stayed with us. We love giving the sweet simple things to our guests to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

For starters, the rooms were very beautiful. They had a modern look to them. The bathrooms were also very nice and well maintained. The overall decor for the entire hotel was very elegant. Although I had no complaints about the hotel itself, I did have a problem with the staff who is running the rooftop lounge VIP area. First off, my friends and I are not rich snobs by any means. However, if we paid over $1000 to have a good time at one of DC's finest lounges we expect to do so. The ladies who were working our VIP area never came out to check and see how our table was doing. We had to CONSTANTLY keep looking for them in order to get more ice or juice refills. We felt like there was a lack of customer service and were doing their job for them. Also, it took them about a hour to count our money and bring us receipts as we were ready to leave. Should it have taken this long to count a few dollar bills and bring a receipt? As the night progressed we had strangers entering our VIP area and sitting down drinking from our drinks. Since I am a gentleman, I spoke with the lounge security staff in order to have them removed from our spot. I specifically recall speaking with a big, dark bouncer who was standing by the elevator. After I told him what the situation was, he rolled his eyes at me and had a very disgusting attitude. He walked VERY, VERY, slowly over to our VIP area and by then the strangers were gone. I'm sorry but I did make you walk too much? Isn't it your job to remove unwanted people from a reserved location? Once again we are NOT rich snobs but if we're celebrating a friends birthday and paying a large amount of money along with leaving nice gratuity we expect our service to be exceptional. I don't want this review to scare people away but I do want the rest of you to see what I had to deal with that night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello Jay P,

Thank you for you feedback from your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the service you received at our rooftop lounge. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider our hotel on your next escape. We will be sending you feedback to our General Manager to address our service culture. We hope to welcome you back and please let us know when you plan your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here a few times now on business. First of all, I don't think this is a hotel for young children. It is however a great hotel for business, leisure and families with older children. It's location over-looking the White House is fantastic, and the bar on the top floor is great on a hot evening. There are a couple of good, but reasonably expensive, restaurants in the hotel. The gym is in the basement and is functional without being especially high tech.
The rooms vary but are all designed with a view to being a little more modern and maximising the space (sliding doors etc.). Some of the smaller rooms seem a bit cramped and all the rooms are all pretty dark even with the lights on but makes for decent sleeping at night. Some people may not like the showers which although part of the bathroom are separated from the bedroom by a frosted glass panel. Fine if you're by yourself, not so good if you're a bit self-conscious....
The hotel is very clean and the service is excellent. The bed are all very comfortable and pretty large (probably king-size at least). Highly recommend

Room Tip: Rooms with two doubles are very generous
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello LondonNeat,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We are so happy you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We do have the perfect location with a couple steps to The White House and a short walk to many of the major landmarks and businesses. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good service and availability from all the workers. Rooftop terrace with an amazing view, a great steakhouse with great food and service called J&G and a perfect living room bar for chill out and listen some live music friday night. The living room bar had an amazing selection of whiskeys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello BrunoMiranda,

Thank you for your review. We do have amazing views from our rooftop terrace. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever Service to make your stay unique. Our weekends have great live music in the Living Room for you to enjoy while you SIP on one of our signature handcrafted cocktails. Please let us know when you plan your next escape and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Love this hotel. Sitting on the balcony looking down on the White House and the Mall is just wonderful. Only problem is is does get busy up there. Still can't believe they let you look down on the White House though.

Rooms are cool, reasonable size and have everything you want. Nice open lobby that gives you the feel of colonial times. Will stay whenever I need to be downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello M L,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We do have the best panoramic views of The District and The White House. We hope to welcome you back soon and please email us when you plan your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £161 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing