We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel for a Destination Wedding!”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Hills, KS
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel for a Destination Wedding!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are writing this review to personally thank the W Hotel and employees for making our destination wedding in Washington DC the best experience possible - March 20-24, 2014. Here's why:

Customer Service - The ENTIRE team of employees at the W Hotel far exceeded our expectations. From the special wedding gift waiting for us in our room, to the many requests fulfilled to make our wedding perfect, the hotel met our every need. It seemed like the entire hotel knew we were getting married and acknowledged us at every opportunity. We felt like royalty.

Rooms - The hotel made every effort to ensure our entire wedding party were grouped together and upgraded us to a beautiful suite on the eight floor. The suite had a spectacular view of the White House and George Washington Monument. We loved our room and it will be memorialized in our photo wedding album.

Location - The hotel has one of the best locations in DC. Located across the street from the White House, you are within walking distance to many of the major attractions. In addition to having a great location, the hotel has incredible spaces. To better enjoy the hotel lobby, we held our pre-wedding party there. The hotel kindly reserved space for about thirty guests. The service that evening was outstanding and the lobby area was a beautiful backdrop for our celebration. Our guests loved it!

We very much enjoyed our entire stay at the W Hotel. If you're looking for a destination hotel to celebrate a special occasion like a wedding or birthday, we highly recommend this hotel.

To the hotel employees, we will long remember our wedding stay at the W Hotel and hope to pay a return visit for one of our anniversaries. We cannot thank you enough for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It is wonderful to read such an amazing review of your W Washington DC experience. The team strives very hard to provide geniune and personalized experiences to all of our guests, so I will be sure to celebrate their success in providing you with such a memorable experience. Thank you very much for spending your wedding with us and we hope to welcome you again when your travels bring you back to Washington.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    641
    288
    146
    94
See reviews for
365
622
146
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

the hotel is close the white house and full of history, the roof-top terrace is a must-see in the summer... But it is not worth staying at this hotel.
Despite an excellent design, the rooms are small, most without view or outside window - just a frosted windows on a blind inside sky light. Showers are not designed for anyone over 5'11, room are commercial displays of everything the W would like to sell to you during your stay, and you are required to ask for everything other hotels provide by default: iPhone adaptor, coffee machine, soap,...
Unfortunately the staff is mainly unpleasant, rushing you at the bar ("you have to leave in 45mn because we have other reservations") or condescending at the check-in ("you can check on our website for this information about your room, sir").
Not to par with the W brand, and below other Washington hotels in the same range.

Room Tip: Be ready to spend extra for a normal room, the ''wonderful'' ones are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations, but you are absolutely correct when you say the roof top terrace is a "must-see." In the future, I suggest that you reserve either a Spectacular or Fabulous room as these rooms face the exterior of the building, more toward your liking. Also the Fantastic and Marvelous suites will have a larger bath, which may be more suitable as well. The team strives very hard to provide exceptional customer service, so I'm a bit shocked to hear that the team was not friendly during your experience. As you can see from most of our reviews is that the team is the best part of the experience at W Washington DC. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously and I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate leaders in the hotel. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just returned from a two-day stay at this hotel. For the price, ($325/per night), you are getting a VERY small room and a bathroom with a European-style toilet that is shaped like a bucket, which is exactly what it feels like when you sit on it. Without a doubt the most uncomfortable "toilet-lid" experience I've had in my years of traveling. For only a few bucks more I recommend staying next door at the Williard where most of the rooms are over-sized as are the bathrooms. I asked the friendly young lady at the front desk if all the rooms were as small as mine, and she confirmed that was the case, and the reason she said is because the hotel is so old. I didn't have the time to explain to her that the Willard is close to 200 years old and doesn't suffer the same problem. Apparently being "modern and deco" means having to be uncomfortable too!

The location is very good and the staff friendly and helpful, no issues there. Very nice rooftop bar too, a great scene. I had dinner at J&G steakhouse on the premises and it is just OK, very expensive too. I won't stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room elsewhere/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the design of your room did not meet your expectations. One of our passion points is design and what W is known for, so I'm disappointed that this was not suitable for you. Thank you for say such nice things about the team. At W, we take our guest feedback very seriously as it helps us improve where improvement is needed and helps us celebrate our successes. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Kayla made our stay. Beautiful room, all the comforts.... Luxuries if you choose. Spacious suite, amazing bath/shower. And the bed was superb. We will be back. Breakfast a tad disappointing, staff seemed overwhelmed, not very hospitable

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Callmearelic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review. The team strives very hard to provide exceptional service to all of our guests, so I will be sure to put Kayla in the spotlight for her job well done. Your feedback is truly valuable to us. It shows us where we are succeeding and where we may need some improvements. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate leaders in the hotel as well. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The W Hotel Washington D.C. is a unique property for the W Hotel chain. The building first opened as Hotel Washington back in 1918 and is a registered building so when the W Hotel took over the space, they had to maintain certain architectural features in the lobby and exterior. I think they did a fantastic job and this is a property I would stay at again.

The W Washington D.C. is located at 515 5th Street and has all the amenities you would expect but its best feature is their P.O.V. roof terrace bar / restaurant with views of The White House and The Washington Monument. The property is near many of D.C.’s attractions making this a good location for both business and personal travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your W Experience. W's passion points are Music, Fashion, and Design. I'm glad that you were able to experience these passion points through out excellent spaces, including POV. We hope you continue to spread the word about W Washington DC.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wish I'd planned to stay longer...this is a very cool place and you do not want to miss the view of the White House from the rooftop bar. I will definitely make sure to book time in the spa next time I'm here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. POV is one of the most popular bars and it is known to have the best views in Washington. I hope you get to enjoy Bliss the next time you are in town as this will help enhance your experience, providing some rest and relaxation. If there is anything I can ever do to ensure your experience is exceptional, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A very nice hotel. Comfortable, modern room and friendly efficient staff. Just a couple of blocks from the White House. I ate 2 meals in the hotel restaurant, the food was good but not spectacular.
But it is very expensive. This was a business trip so we were traveling on a blocked room rate, and even with that I still had to get special approval because of the rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoChemProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review. W Washington DC is known for our location as we are very close to the White House, but also every museum and momument in DC. Our luxurious environment is exceptional for groups, business travelers, and our leisure travelers looking to have inside access to Washington DC. When your travels bring you back to Washington, do not forget to connect with our W Insider, Zineb (zineb.tourougui@whotels.com), who can easily connect you with what is new/next in Washington.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,004 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Property: W Washington D.C.
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing