We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof Top Bar - Great views”
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Roof Top Bar - Great views”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We didn't stay here but stopped in for a rest while walking from Georgetown to Chinatown. Luckily there was room in site of sofas. Great views. Regular drink service. If you are after a table up there you need to book depending on the time of day as a popular place. We decided to stay here next time we are in D.C. Very fun hip decor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
On behalf of myself and our team at W Washington, DC we are glad to hear that your visit at our P.O.V. terrace has been great and definitely appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely.
Oliver Servat
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    622
    284
    147
    92
See reviews for
346
609
145
746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks ago for business. The location is pretty good. Metro not far and waking distance to a bunch of restaurants, attractions and the like. The room was a little different. My complaint was the room was too dark, especially in the bathroom. It was hard to shave in the little light. Hotel room was near, clean and tidy. Staff was very helpful getting around. Had room service and arrived in normal time frame.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KRY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful note regarding your overall experience at the W!

However, a stay is meant to be easy, comfortable and relaxing. To find that you could not comfortably relax in our guestroom due to the lack of lighting is disappointing. We will consider this kind of feedback with future redesigns.

We hope to see you again and please do not hesitate to request extra light, it would be a pleasure to make it happened.
All the best.

Olivier Servat
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
413 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A friend recommended a stop here to experience the rooftop bar -- what a great recommendation. The rooftop bar has a view of the White House and the Treasury Building and you have an expansive view of the DC rooftops. We arrived at about 5PM on a Friday and had to wait about 15 min. for a seat by the railing with a nice view. The menu looked good but we passed since we were heading to dinner. I would go back again for another drink. The lobby bar looked pretty as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful note! We truly appreciate this and hope that to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Olivier Servat
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I so enjoyed the atmosphere. However the elevators are always broken .. And on Friday and Saturday the lobby is packed. And the room service is very expensive but worth the money. Otherwise it a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the white house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful note! We truly appreciate this. Your experience is a true testament to the Whatever/Whenever service culture at W Hotels. Perhaps on your next visit to Washington, D.C. you can stay a little longer.
If you need anything else in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us pre-arrival.

Kind Regards.

Olivier Servat
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived a little early, but our rooms were not available for early check-in, which wasn't a big deal. I was a little surprised that the front door staff watched me unload my luggage from the cab and bring it to the entrance. They were nice enough to open the door, however. We were promptly greeted at reception and were informed that one of our two rooms weren't quite ready. I went ahead and checked into one and then the agent went ahead and confirmed our information and made a good recommendation for lunch at a local eatery. As promised, the hotel called a couple of hours later when the second room was ready. Both rooms were clean and presentable. The other reviews are correct in that they are somewhat small. We weren't here for the room, so it wasn't a biggie for us. The only gripe I have is that the door to my room didn't shut on its own and had to be pulled shut each time. I know it seems silly, but it was a constant thing to remember when you are used to a door shutting behind you. Overall, I was pretty happy with the stay. Location is excellent and can't be beat. I didn't have any of the noise issues that the other reviews experienced, but I wasn't there on a weekend either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hambojambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Like other reviews mention, the standard rooms are small. The bathrooms aren't very comfortable, but overall the rooms are very pretty and the design works. I can't get over the noise level though. The lobby basically turns into a nightclub on the evenings and then the rooftop bar does the same. We were on the 10th floor and couldn't fall asleep until the music stopped - I felt like the base was in our room. We called down to the front desk and they offered to send earplugs. We cancelled our second night and chose to go to another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
618 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is the best location I have stayed in D.C. and perfect for viewing colleges, touring or meetings. Less than 2 blocks from the metro, White House, Smithsonian, The Hamilton (music) and offices. Our room was spacious and quiet. I would definitely request and interior facing room and sacrifice the view. We had really big windows etched with cherry blossoms and the room was quiet. We used the metro to get out to colleges and the zoo. The Smithsonian was so close we could make quick visits. Taxis were plentiful. The National Portrait Gallery was a same 10 minute walk. The White House was less than 2 blocks away which we really enjoyed. The neighborhood felt safe for women alone and always had professionals and tourists walking around. The elevator fiasco was really a mess, so plan ahead if you have tickets for anything. Dining options nearby are limited. We ate at the Hamilton - great brunch and lunch, be sure to check out the music schedule if you are traveling as a couple, with friends or teens. I took two teens and it was just across the street. We had a double queen room that was very spacious. There were surprisingly few families staying here. The only complaint was the elevator. They had 3 small elevators of which only 2 seemed to be working during our entire stay and on Saturday night with parties etc. only 1 was working which caused absolute mayhem in the lobby. We were unable to return to our room and make our concert even after waiting 30 mins to get in the elevator. People were irate. The elevators detracted from our stay and apology. On our return late that night, there was still only one elevator. I would warn anyone staying who had a schedule to be aware that these elevators are a serious problem. The staff was well trained and very nice. Although we are loyal SPG - gold level visitors and because my husband was unable to make the trip at the last minute, they insisted the reservation change to my name and didn't award our points or allow us internet. I loved this hotel, but frankly I am getting a little tired of the restrictions from SPG as compared to other chains.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room on a low floor (in case the elevator is a problem), it is worth the sacrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,924 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
472 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing