We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rooftop bar with horrible service”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive rooftop bar with horrible service”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The W rooftop bar is expensive for drinks and we sat for 20 minutes and no one came to take our order. I guess we actually went for the view which is great, but don't expect much more quality than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uglychicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was less than exceptional. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate leaders at the hotel to improve this immediately. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly in the future.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    641
    288
    146
    94
See reviews for
365
622
146
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Would not recommend for business travel. I had the "wonderful" room and it was really not all that wonderful. It was clean, but really very small. There wasn't even a full bathroom (the sink area is actually in the room). The desk area is very very small, not at all good for working for any length of time. The beds are very comfortable. Aside from the general "W" styling of the hotel which is what you would expect from a W, my only complaint is the size of the room. The rooftop bar is very cool -- be sure to make a reservation. Great views of Washington.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for review of your experience. I apologize that your room was not up to your expectations. In the future I suggest reserving a Fabulous King room or above. The team strives to deliver personalized service to all of our guests, both business guests or ones on leisure. The next time your travels brings you back to Washington, please reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at The W for a work related meeting. The hotel is now decorated in an ultra-modern theme. They seem to only cater to the 20-something crowd. I heard several in our group make the same comment. Over all it was a pleasant stay. We just felt it was a bit pricey considering the pros/cons.

PROS:
Great location – across from the White House and close to the Washington Mall
Elevators are very small but quick.
Bed was very comfy.
Coffee is available each morning in the lobby (in room coffee makers are available upon request I believe).
DVD player in room
Room service: Timely and the food was very good. We used Room Service one morning for breakfast since the hotel restaurant didn’t open until 8:00 AM on weekends, and we had a meeting to attend. We later discovered a great little coffee shop that serves breakfast and lunch on the next block. The hotel didn’t bother to tell us about it.
Complimentary Dasani bottled water in each room.
J&G – Our group enjoyed a great dinner in the private dining room downstairs. The food was outstanding and the service fantastic! The room provided a perfect ambiance for dinner.
Room was very quiet during the night time hours.
In room safe
Weekday newspaper wasn’t delivered to room each day like the website says. However, there was always a stack available near the elevators - not a problem.

CONS:
Our room was very tiny. I’m sure if we were willing to pay even more than we already were ($383/night – conference rate), we could have had a larger room.
Closet was extremely small, especially when there are 2 people in the room.
The bathroom door didn’t close completely. There was a large gap, which means no privacy when taking care of things. Sort of uncomfortable when sharing a room, even if it is with your spouse.
The lighting controls were very odd. We had a hard time getting the vanity lights to turn off completely due to the strange dimmer switch. It seemed to have a mind of its own. One night I had to remove the bulb in order to have darkness.
When we checked in, I asked for a quiet room, even if it had no view, based upon some of the TA reviews and suggestions I had read. The room was very quiet at night – we never heard any of the night club music that seems to be a problem on some floors. However, if you plan on catching an afternoon nap, forget it – unless you have earplugs. There are doors slamming all over the place. The housekeeping staff does not prop the room doors open while freshening rooms. Instead, they go in/out to get supplies, and between 2:00 – 5:00 PM, it’s very noisy.
Our shower had a very poor drain. After a couple of minutes in the shower, water was backing up and almost overflowing. Our shower also leaked around the outside edges onto the carpet in the living area. I let maintenance know, and they are supposed to be correcting the problems.
We signed up for the “SPG Green Choice Program” upon check-in which means you decline daily housekeeping. If you need new towels you just call. By Tuesday we needed new towels. When the staff member arrived, she only brought 4 bath towels – no hand towels or washcloths. I called again for the remaining items needed. She then returned with them, but wouldn’t take the dirty towels. Someone else had to come pick them up. We found this odd.
When we were ready to check-out, I tried to use the check-out system through the TV. It wouldn’t work. Why offer it if it doesn’t work? I ended up using the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StraitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. At W, we take our guests feedback very seriously. I have addressed your concerns with the leadership of the hotel so that we can enhance our services where we fell short. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy some of the great benefits of staying at W Washington DC. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I've lived and stayed in W Hotels all over the world. This W is by far the worst when it comes to customer service. From not having the heavy doors opened for you while struggling with your bags to not recieving anything until you call three times. Leave all day and not coming back to a "styled" room then they'll come once your getting ready for dinner.

If you can bare the bad service they did an amazing job restoring The Washington Hotel and it truly is prime location to the National Mall. Amazing views from the rooftop bar and nightclub.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the customer service that you received. For the team not to be reactive to your needs is unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally as I never want your experience to be repeated.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

No doubt that the Hotel Washington is a landmark, and the service was great. But I don't understand why they would take a fabulous, stately, historical hotel and change the inside to trendy urban. It was a great stay, but not what I expected. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. W is famous for our design and helps us create a unique environment for our guests. Most importantly is that our talent strives to provide personalized service to each of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location next to the White House. Nice room, and a great looking hotel. As a member of the hotel group's loyalty scheme, though we expected a better customer service experience. Free wifi was our 'bonus' although, really, free wifi is the least we expect in a top hotel. There is a nice lobby with good wifi, full of guests who presumably didn't qualify for free wifi. Small niggles which stop this being a 5 star review include, for instance, no shampoo in the bathroom. So we bought some in a local store, and the next day shampoo has been put in the bathroom. Just annoying. Please note all bedding seems to be feather, to which I am severely allergic. They did change the bedding for me once I asked, but I had one very bad night. The rooftop terrace is beautiful, but booking would appear to be essential, so we missed out on the opportunity to experience it. Another niggle was that we booked the moonlight tram tour through the hotel and were told the wrong pickup point by the concierge. Not a particularly welcoming or friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 8 May 2014
As a Starwood Preferred Guest your loyalty is extremely valuable to us so I apologize that the team was less than exceptional. Your comments are not typical to hear as they work extremely hard to provide superior service to all of our guests, especially our loyal Starwood members. I will be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate leaders of the hotel to ensure that these comments are not repeated. When your travels bring you back to Washington, please reach out to me directly so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Great location in the heart of DC. Room was comfortable and sufficient for my one night visit. Cool old building with class and style. Highlight was visiting the rooftop bar on a beautiful spring evening and enjoying the view and the vibe. Wish I had more time to enjoy and explore all the hotel had to offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Design is a core value of W. The mix between old world charm and modern sophistication makes W Washington DC special. The talent works hard to execute our Whatever/Whenever service philosophy. I am glad that you were able to experience all that is now and we look forward to having you back in the future for what's happening next.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,004 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Property: W Washington D.C.
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing