We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable visit ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Washington DC

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
W Washington DC
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife had a very enjoyable visit to this hotel. The staff are fantastic and the location is perfect. The service is excellent and the even though the roof terrace was not open for works which was disappointing (although advised in advance) we will return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daibhai33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello!
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you and your wife had a great stay with us. We have just revealed the new POV and it's fresh new look. Our new restaurant Pinea will also be open in just a few weeks. We invite you to stop by and visit us in the near future so we may once again wow you and your lovely wife. See you soon!
Best Regards,
Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    610
    273
    138
    91
See reviews for
336
596
144
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Overall, had a good stay. The staff was consistently friendly. Location is great- close to most tourist attractions. Right by the White House, .5-1 mile to everything else including the Washington monument and all the smithsonian museums.

What I didn't like:

Seems to be a trend with W hotels, small rooms with funky cheap furniture.

Also, I was not noticed the roof top lounge was going to be closed for renovations. That was a huge reason I chose this hotel- to use the lounge and see the city lit up at night. I get that they have to renovate but should have been noticed beforehand so that I could change hotels if I wanted.

Location like I said though was great so cannot complain too much.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiffkat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi there,
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and it seems you were conveniently able to enjoy the city as well. I am also thrilled to announce POV is open and has revealed its brand new look. I am sorry if it was not properly communicated to you prior to your stay that it would be closed. I have addressed this issue and hope that in the future you will allow us to show you a great stay. As we are a renovated property we were limited in the design choices for the rooms which is why most of our rooms are not huge. I would love to see you back with us in the near future, need anything? Just ask!
Best Regards,
Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July holiday. OUTSTANDING location. Within walking distance to many of the great attractions. (Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, White House, National Archives, Ford's Theatre, Museum of American History, etc) Extraordinary service and very nice accommodation's. The roof top bar is a wonderful place for drinks, light fare, and a spectacular view. However, it can cause the hotel to be somewhat "hectic" on Friday and Saturday nights. Very close to a number of very nice restaurants (The Hamilton and Old Ebbitt Grill were fantastic!) Parking wasn't cheap ($50/day) but proximity to so many things more than made up for that additional cost. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room with an exterior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi there!
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. I am thrilled that you spent such a great time here at our property. As we are located downtown it is very convenient for our guests to enjoy the proximity of all the attractions. I hope that you are often in DC as we would love to show you what is new and next on your next visit. Keep in touch and hope to see you soon!
Best Regards,
Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

If I ever come to DC again, this will be my go-to hotel. It was finally in my price range (it being the month of August when the government isn’t around) and I am glad I discovered it!

The location is great if you:
1. Want to wake up early in the morning and go for a run through the Mall (it’s amazing how close together all the monuments seem when you are actually running in between them!)
2. Want to be anywhere on the red line (the stop isn’t around the corner, but it’s convenient enough as DC subway stations go)

The breakfast was also really nice. Huge variety of things all done with quality.

Also, the staff was all really nice. Super smiley, and always asking if you needed anything.

Apparently there is also a really nice roof-top bar as well that I was not able to take advantage of. Perhaps next time!

Room Tip: Get a view facing the Treasury building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alilu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi there!
Glad you could share some feedback with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We are always striving to get better and it helps to know you had a great stay with us. Our POV (rooftop lounge) was newly refreshed with great new designs. Our new restaurant Pinea will soon open and we would love for you to join us again for a visit full of wows. Hope to see you soon!
Best Regards,
Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The most beautiful location, the service was dissapointing, but the ambiance and views were what made the experience a 10! It was like a beautiful NYC club over looking the White House. Breath taking. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the D.C. Area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kimdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always looking for area of improvement, your feedback was taken very seriously and we will definitely retrain our team to make sure that our service is at the level expected.
Please do not hesitate to come visit as we are going to unveil September 5th our new POV.

Best regards.

Olivier Servat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is located opposite the White House and a five minute walk from the National Mall where one finds most of the Smithsonian museums. Breakfast was served at the restaurant / terrace on the top floor with great views of the area and the Washington Monument. Not very many restaurants in the immediate vicinity but the few that there are were very good. The hotel also seemed to be the beacon of night life in the area when the terrace on the top floor becomes a night club for over 21. Rooms very comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had an internal room and it was very quiet. I trust that the rooms facing south and west would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanMMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are presently renovating our outlets, do not hesitate to visit us again in September to discover what's new and next in our property.
Looking forward for your next visit.

Olivier Servat.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

admittedly i was sold on the location from the website and in practice from my room i could watch the guard on the roof of the White House probably looking at me through his very large binoculars! initial contact not great as the first receptionist clearly loved herself more than the patrons....a colleague took over who clearly was more on my wave-length. then the massive let down.....two star attractions that i was really looking forward to were closed for refurbishment. worst, the roof top bar, the weather was glorious, perfect for watching the sunset.secondly, the hotel restaurant which they claim is one of the best in DC. What p++++d me off was that this was not mentioned on their website, or if it was it was well hidden. The room was fine but really all we did was sleep rather live in the hotel if you get my drift. one member of staff needs a separate mention, the female concierge, lovely lady.

Room Tip: overlooking the White House
See more room tips
Green Features: i am not sure whether they have any! weren't immediately obvious...bit of a meaningless question.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraser911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to apology if your stay was not up to your expectation due to our on going renovation. POV will reopen September 5th with a brand new concept. If you decide to give us a second chance, please let us know when you are back with us and Zineb, our Insider, zineb.tourougui@whotels.com; will make sure that your stay is exceptional.

Kind regards.
Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing