We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good utility place - not for fun or socializing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duo Housing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duo Housing
Earth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good utility place - not for fun or socializing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place has very nice rooms, with big lockers, easy to sleep no noise and clean.
It has a very good location walking distance to the national mall.
But the place is boring, there is no platform for socializing with new people there, so it barely happens.
The place is run in a very 'strict' manner taking the fun out of it. No activites planned, the building itself is built in a manner which is hard to move around.
The owner is a hypocrite who does not allow for shoes beyond the front door, but comes with shoes on himself, and worse yet with his dirty dog that drools all over the place. (The bathrooms and rooms are very clean nonetheless. The shoe policy is stupid though)

Bottom line: Need a good clean place, in a good location for a reasonable price ? Found your place.
Want a place for a bit more than that - such as fun, socializing and good 'vibe' ? Search someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    77
    37
    20
    25
See reviews for
4
25
111
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hostel has a shoes-off policy which seems to translate to staff as "no need to clean". The foyer stinks with foot sweat as a result. The staff was off- the girl making breakfast was more keen on gossiping with her mates than actually cooking...lots of hungry people stood in line waiting. Very young crowd who seem to know it all- didn't enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Basement room was depressing, as no natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at Duo Housing early 2012 for the first time and instantly fell in love with the relaxed atmosphere and the staff. I returned last month and was not disappointed!!

Pros:
staff
cleanliness
bedding
lounge areas
outdoor decks

Cons:
No free food :-(
no drinking after 10pm
upstairs deck closes at 7pm (but the downstairs one stays open!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagoBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Duo housing is one of the cheapest ( but Aldo central) places to stay in Washington DC. The place is very clean ( they ask you to take off your shoes before entering) and is nice. Bedrooms are large and very clean, toilets are ok. We also had free food (hamburgers and hot dogs) on Sunday night. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a more controlled atmosphere. The owner keeps tight control. However, that may be a good thing because of such control, this is a good hostel to get your "feet wet" in the world of hostel travel. Some other hostels have little to no rules, and because of it, it may be dirty, or hard to sleep. I enjoyed my stay, I followed the rules and everything worked out. This is not a party hostel. I met some great people here however, and we partied outside the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubandfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a very good place to stay. This is a very nice and clean place with very friendly staff. I think this is the best hostel I've stay in the USA. The location is excellent, it is near the National Mall. I recomend the hostel, I think it's ideal for young travellers that are travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was looking for a cheap, secure place to stay during my travel to DC. I was apprehensive about this hostel before I arrived but after I got here I really liked the place. I stayed for two nights in a mixed 12 bedroom dorm room without any concern, issue or fear. The staffs were great, the place is clean and conveniently located near Downtown DC. Of course if you are looking for a relaxing, leisure place with comfort this is not the place to be. There are lots of people, international young students mostly who are just passing through or looking for a cheap safe place. If you are a student or someone looking for a place that is secure and comfortable enough in a cheap price, this is the place to be. My fears about living in a mixed dorm (as I'm a girl and not from US) were all put to rest. I am thankful that there are cheap and good alternative like Duo Housing for people like me.

Room Tip: If you book beforehand, you will get all male and all female dorms on the upper floors which are air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeemaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duo Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duo Housing

Property: Duo Housing
Address: 1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duo Housing 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All brand new!! New bathrooms! New media room! Cleanest rooms in dc! (Thanks to our "no shoes in house" and "no food in bedrooms" policies! ) Check out what makes Duo Housing THE #1 Choice for travellers! We provide the MOST FREE Amenities of any Hostel in DC! Duo Housing is just MINUTES away from nightlife, tourist attractions, and shopping! Less than 2 blocks to the Metro Rail! Come see why everyone LOVES Duo Housing DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Duo Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duo Housing Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing