We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duo Housing
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$499
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$519
US$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$320
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$463
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
US$274
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$265
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$309
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
86
80
39
22
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
80
39
22
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno shoe policyfree pancakesbed dormfreshly made pancakesfree towelshostel offersmain buildingevery morningnice facilitiesbike sharestayed here for one nightironing boardbreakfast was includedminute walklounge areabathroom doorwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good: Very friendly Atomosphere, All the guests were nice and open-minded. Great Value

Bad: Bathroom was small and crowded. Not very quite. Beds are old. No waching machine in hostel. (there is a lundry shop 1 block away but it was quite sketchy and very expensive)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunhyec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed in this hostel for three nights and they were just great! Awesome staff, awesome atmosphere, awesome people! I liked the no-shoe policy because it gave the hostel such a homely touch. The chillout areas were pretty nice and a good way to talk to other travellers which is particularly enjoyable when you are travelling alone. They serve free pancakes from 7.30 to 9.30 but unfortunately, I slept too late each morning and didn't get the chance to try them.. However, I was told they are really good ;)
The hostel's location is very good, although it is quite a walk to the National Mall and the Capitol which didn't bother me at all. Nevertheless, there are several bus stops and metro stations nearby which make it easy to get everywhere.
The rooms and restrooms were clean, so nothing to complain about on my part.
All in all, an amazing hostel experience which made my time in DC even more memorable. If I ever come back, I'll make sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dinakrecic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at this small-ish hostel. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere was pretty good. The rooms are pretty basic but adequate. The hostel has a no shoes policy and a lot of rules (I would consider most of them reasonable), which you have to agree to before you can stay there. There are free pancakes for breakfast every morning and a small kitchen which you can use to make other meals. The location is pretty good too; a long-ish walk from downtown but there are a couple of metro stations nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The free pancakes for breakfast were great as was the free rooftop BBQ on Sundays. Its about a 20min walk down to centre.

About 30min walk to Adams Morgan - for a young traveller this is a funky / interesting place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Its_Artifice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I spent three nights at Duo Housing with my friends in late January 2014.

It was a little bit tricky to find at first but we made it eventually. It is located just next to a small supermarket and further down on the block you can find a liquor store. If that store has closed there's another one on M street if you turn left.

The staff were friendly and social. The pancakes in the morning was well appreciated, although I wish they had proper maple syrup instead of just ordinary syrup.

The kitchen was small and the frying pans and so on were a bit run down and there were handles missing and so on. It was still good enough to cook with and I fried a lot of eggs there and even fried some chicken and cooked rice one evening.

The social areas were really nice and we met some really nice people at the hostel. I would recommend though that the "dining room" next to the kitchen should be cleaned a bit more often as there were cereal and other crunchy stuff on the floor quite often.

The wifi worked quite ok. It was really slow or not working at all some times but most of the time it worked well.

The rooms were not very spacious and there was little space to put a suitcase, especially if you had a bed in the corner like I did. I had to lift my suitcase and place it on top of the security lockers. The lockers were spacious and sturdy.

The showers and toilets were nice and clean, nothing to complain about there.

Dog allergics, be aware. There's a dog in the hostel, but he stays on the ground floor and is not dangerous or overly social.

The temperature in the hostel was in general good. The dorms and toilets were very warm one morning though. The ground floor could be a little chilly but I rarely went there except for when passing through to go out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hostel. My room was next to the street and you could hear cars and trucks driving by outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niklas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews