We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden but nice”

National Geographic Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #79 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Off the beaten path but a very nice display. We saw the special presentation of Peruvian gold as well as a nice permanent display focusing on the stories, photos and photographers from the Societies history. Worth the time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    193
    100
    59
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Work and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was at National Geographic for a small conference and to give input on the status of Geographic Education in America, but while there we were allowed to walk through the museum. I collect NG Magazines, so the wall of magazine covers was totally awesome. It was fun to see what the cover was when you were born.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wessell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Saw the Peruvian displays too and totally enjoyed it all. This is slightly off the beaten path so it wasn't crowded or noisy. A welcome change from most DC institutions. The photo displays are wonderful. Take an hour or so to wander through and you shouldn't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not exactly sure what i had to pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

one of the smallest museums i've ever been to. we got tickets for the museum, subscribers to any of their magazines get a small discount- members price. all you have to do is say yes i subscribe; even then- kind of high for not a whole lot. BUT- it is national geographic. i love national geographic. if the entrance price goes to supporting their travel and research then- fine by me.
the main reason for our visit was to see the cosmos exhibit. it was surprisingly small. on display was one of carl sagan's turtlenecks and his appointment diary along with the book he signed for neil tyson. we are huge sagan and cosmos fans, i was hoping for a bit more. there was also a cosmic calendar display with a timeline with some images from the new series.
my traveling companions paid extra and went to see the 3d movie about space weather. they said it was excellent.
now the hidden gem of this museum is their cafe. it's the staff lunch room and it is excellent. the choice is fantastic, the food was delicious and it was affordable. added geek points- you're hanging out eating lunch with the people who work at national geographic.
the rest of the museum is good- the inca gold exhibit was interesting. there were some pottery and weaving examples in addition to the metal work. the hall of covers was great. national geographic's motto could be "been there, done that" my mom was all- they've done more for the advancement of knowledge than probably any other organization or government. and yea, when you look at some of what their funding of research projects has accomplished, you can't help but be awed.
bonus tip- there are water fountains outside the restrooms where you can refill your water bottles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank l w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Inca Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We walked from The Mall in Dc to the National Geographic Museum, pushing my Mom in her wheel chair and it was worth it! The Inca Gold half of the museum was a new display. Fabulous. The other side was a walk through memory lane for us as it featured video clips, photos, etc from National Geographic shows and magazines we have seen over the past 50 years. It is still amazing to see. We recommend it for a family to visit. There was a small fee for seeing the Inca Gold portion of the museum, but the other side was free to the public and on its own worth seeing even if one walks instead of taking either the subway or a bus. This was our second visit to this museum and we will likely go again when we visit the DC area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Geographic Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Geographic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing