We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of RIS

RIS
Reserve with OpenTable
RIS is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 3,662 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 23rd
Transit: From Foggy Bottom Metro (Orange and Blue Lines) 1. As you exit the Metro, turn left onto 23rd Street. 2. At the traffic circle, take the 5th exit and continue on 23rd Street. 3. Walk one block. 4. Turn right at L Street NW. RIS will be across the street on the left.
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

While visiting DC, we were looking for a place to have a good dinner within walking distance of our hotel. Online reviews of Ris we're good so we gave it a try. Everything and everyone exceeded our expectations. Food was divine (and creative). Bartender and staff were personable, efficient and entertaining and at the end we got to meet Chef Ris...in the kitchen! Two out of towners thank you for a wonderful experience.

Thank camil1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risdcpr, Public Relations Manager at RIS, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thanks so much for the response! I am glad you had an amazing time. I hope to see you again when you visit DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Elegant restaurant on the outskirts of Georgetown, the menu is limited, but offered some delicious options. I started with the Wedge Salad, which was not too large. Several of us had the Chicken Milanese. It was very good as it was encrusted with Parmesan Cheese and had a small arugula salad. My colleague had the Trout which they enjoyed. The Redfish was served with the head intact and my friend said it was tasty. There were no beef options, which was surprising, although they did offer rack of lamb. I am not a Gin drinker, but there are many Gin options, which several of my fellow diners took advantage of. They offer Gluten Free and Vegetarian options. The dessert menu was extensive. The waitress we had must have been having a bad night, as she was rude and curt. The food deserves a 4, but the service is important, which is why I gave RIS a 3. Each of us paid about $70 apiece, which is definitely on the pricier end of the spectrum.

Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

KAREEM is amazing! Attention to detail, friendly and engaging. Ris is a wonderful spot for dinner/lunch/drinks. Kareem made my husband and sons birthday amazing. We will be back to visit soon!

Thank Arnelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risdcpr, Public Relations Manager at RIS, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello,

Glad you had an amazing birthday with us! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

have now been to RIS for lunch (a couple times) and dinner. great menu and reasonable price point. actually signed up for the RIS pie of the month club. exotic dessert pies most months although in Feb and March they had chicken pot pie and a greek pie. The Magic question - "would I go back? yes.

Thank magicianrating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risdcpr, Public Relations Manager at RIS, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for the feedback. We have to go pot pie that you can warm up at home year round if you are interested also! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Wanted just a glass of wine and a salad but was in a rush. They were very accommodating and provided excellent service. The wine by the glass was perfect and the salad hit the spot. We are outside even though no one else was out in the patio. They did not hesitate when we requested the patio and the service was beyond our expectations.

Thank 155004Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RIS also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to RIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing