We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum Often Overlooked for the Larger Ones”
Review of The Kreeger Museum

The Kreeger Museum
Ranked #99 of 445 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum home of 200 sculptures and paintings, as well as African art, housed in an elaborate Philip Johnson-designed building.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice Museum Often Overlooked for the Larger Ones”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Sometimes the mall is crowded so that is a good time to visit some of the smaller museums in the area. We have a ton of them, this one is especially nice.

Helpful?
Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    18
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
andover, ma
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Gem of A Museum -- Not To Miss”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In all our many, many trips to DC, the Kreeger Museum was unknown to us until a friend recommended we make visit. And it was well worth that visit. The museum was the home of David Kreeger, who was the chairman of Geico Insurance; the architect was Philip Johnson, who designed the building to showcase the Kreeger's collection. It is a stunning building. The collection is mainly Impressionists and other contemporary artists, exhibited in this beautiful space. The Kreeger's also had an interest in sculpture, which is exhibited inside the museum and outside on an enormous, stunning patio. You quickly lose the sense that you are surrounded by a very large, urban area. The entire collection is really lovely. They do host special exhibitions, have concerts and other musical events in the galllery area, and they are planning to make the museum available for special events, weddings, etc. The hours are limited, but apparently it is possible to call and book a visit outside of regular visiting hours. We visited the museum, expecting it to be open. It wasn't, but as we were walking away, a staff person told us a private tour was booked (which consisted of three people) and would be starting in an hour, if we wanted to come back. Altogether it was really wonderful, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barharborvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Beautiful home with awesome landscaping - unfortunately you cannot tour the entire property. Interesting collection of art.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irregular opening hours, but the Kreeger rewards planning a visit.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Groupon for reduced entrance fee at the Kreeger Museum was due to expire at the end of the month so some friends and I visited on Saturday, 28 July. Reservations are required Tuesday-Thursday, but Friday and Saturday are open with optional guided tours throughout the days. The Museum is closed Sundays, Mondays, and the month of August resuming regular operating hours on September 11, 2012.

I very much enjoyed seeing upclose the building designed by Philip Johnson. His spare modern style must have made a diverting backdrop for the classical French furniture Carmen and David Kreeger insisted on using while they were in residence.

I was surprised and delighted to see so many Picassos and Impressionists. The limited collection of sculpture featured Rodin. Several striking examples from the Washington Color School are found in the basement along with a bright "Homage to the Square" by Josef Albers.

I posted some photos taken during my visit at https://picasaweb.google.com/110302952209318157716/KreegerMuseumDC

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rievaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, MA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Kreeger museum is not to be missed. The house and grounds are spectacular, and then there's the incredible collection of art, both inside the house and in the sculpture garden.

The Kreegers built the house in the early 60s with the intent of it becoming a museum after their death. It is difficult to imagine it as a home, but one of the staff members said that it was very sparsely furnished so as not to interfere with the art.

Unfortunately, the docent was a no-show the day we visited, so we didn't get the guided tour. But, you can certainly walk around and be awestruck by the number of works by Picasso, Miro, Monet, Calder, and on and on and on.

Don't miss it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kreeger Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Kreeger Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing