We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idiosynchratic collection housed in an interesting structure”
Review of The Kreeger Museum

The Kreeger Museum
Ranked #100 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum home of 200 sculptures and paintings, as well as African art, housed in an elaborate Philip Johnson-designed building.
wash dc
Level Contributor
243 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Idiosynchratic collection housed in an interesting structure”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Easily overlooked, this small museum in upper Georgetown has a world-class eclectic mix of modern art, African art, Impressionists, sculpture, and folk art. The docent-led tour was a bit superficial and the grounds were a disappointment, but the work stands on its own. Get a Groupon and treat yourself to some fine examples of Picasso and Monet. Parking is free but space is limited.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank equinoxWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“X off the Kreeger from Bucket list”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Visited the Kreeger Museum for the first time in April and I am planning to return again in a few weeks to take a tour. I used a Groupon, and took a lot of photos which I will share since the previous reviews accurately describe a visit to this little gem on 5 acres with free onsite parking. The impressive collection of artwork displayed in a unique home by Architecht Phillip Johnson and sculpture gardens. A very relaxing and exhilarating cultural experience viewing some of the best paintings and sculptures without the crowds of larger institutions. My husband was scheming a way to spend a few nights in the museum. The best I could do was buy him a catalog. Maybe he will bring me back for a concert.... How would I rate the day? Priceless!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice Museum Often Overlooked for the Larger Ones”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Sometimes the mall is crowded so that is a good time to visit some of the smaller museums in the area. We have a ton of them, this one is especially nice.

Helpful?
Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andover, ma
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Gem of A Museum -- Not To Miss”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In all our many, many trips to DC, the Kreeger Museum was unknown to us until a friend recommended we make visit. And it was well worth that visit. The museum was the home of David Kreeger, who was the chairman of Geico Insurance; the architect was Philip Johnson, who designed the building to showcase the Kreeger's collection. It is a stunning building. The collection is mainly Impressionists and other contemporary artists, exhibited in this beautiful space. The Kreeger's also had an interest in sculpture, which is exhibited inside the museum and outside on an enormous, stunning patio. You quickly lose the sense that you are surrounded by a very large, urban area. The entire collection is really lovely. They do host special exhibitions, have concerts and other musical events in the galllery area, and they are planning to make the museum available for special events, weddings, etc. The hours are limited, but apparently it is possible to call and book a visit outside of regular visiting hours. We visited the museum, expecting it to be open. It wasn't, but as we were walking away, a staff person told us a private tour was booked (which consisted of three people) and would be starting in an hour, if we wanted to come back. Altogether it was really wonderful, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barharborvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Beautiful home with awesome landscaping - unfortunately you cannot tour the entire property. Interesting collection of art.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kreeger Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Kreeger Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing