We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive Service at Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Burger & Bar

Thunder Burger & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Thunder Burger & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 31st St
Transit: Thunder Burger is located approximately .75 miles from both the Foggy Bottom and Rosslyn Metro stations. The Georgetown Metro Connect, the Circulator Bus and the "30"s" Metrobuses all stop within 1/2 block of the restaurant, in front of the Georgetown Barnes & Noble (east-bound) or at the corner of M and 31st St (west-bound).
Orrville, Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Attentive Service at Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We wandered around Georgetown looking for a breakfast spot and found interesting omelettes and egg benedict variations. I loved the crab, swiss, caramelized onion omelet and my husband decided he didn't make the best choice of the crab cake benedict as the flavors didn't go together very well. We loved the basket of powdered sugar crisps that a very delightful young lady brought out. Her service was exceptional. Fresh fruit option was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    188
    49
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were in Georgetown at lunchtime on a hot Saturday and wanted a light meal. Many places on M Street were very busy. We decided on Thunder as it had more room, being a little less central. We enjoyed the Thai salad, with salmon in my case and chicken in my wife's. The service was efficient. The place was nice and cool, and not freezing cold. We felt at ease and unhurried. We had change out of $40.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE NORTH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thunder Bar is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had great service and the food was fabulous, so much so we went back the following day
for a meal. The waitress that served us the day before recognised us and came over to have a chat. Well worth a visit and the different local beers was well worth a taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HUGOTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beer and a Burger Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

during my short stay in Washington I visited the Thunder Burger and Bar twice after being blown away by the food and the vibe of the bar. on my first trip i had a selection of craft beers and their special alligator curry (which was delicious) the second time i had more of their craft beers (having had such a huge selection) and a buffalo burger which again was delicious. not to mention the lovely girls who served us. all in all great place to be right in the middle of George town

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggaeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Burgers, huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We started with 2 entrees, big mistake one is enough for two people. I had the elk burger, again huge portion but was delicious and my husband had the boar burger which he seemed to enjoy by the speed it disappeared. We couldn't manage a dessert but the drinks were ice cold which was welcome after we walked from the White House on a scorching hot day! Would certainly go back when we return to DC. This bar/restaurant is situated in Georgetown which is a lovely part of DC with a village feel

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jones3667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunder Burger & Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thunder Burger & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing