We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”

Thunder Burger & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Thunder Burger & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 31st St
Transit: Thunder Burger is located approximately .75 miles from both the Foggy Bottom and Rosslyn Metro stations. The Georgetown Metro Connect, the Circulator Bus and the "30"s" Metrobuses all stop within 1/2 block of the restaurant, in front of the Georgetown Barnes & Noble (east-bound) or at the corner of M and 31st St (west-bound).
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just had lunch here today and was so impressed! Great food, service and price. My husband had the Bison Burger and I had the Love Me Tender...soo great! Can't wait to come again! Fabulous service!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ibcstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    192
    49
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Eclectic atmosphere. The day we visited it was open air. Great turkey burger and regular burgers. Ample servings. Nicely made cocktails. Good service.
Very pricey

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, mediocre service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

For our last night in DC, we decided to stroll around Georgetown. Based on a recommendation by hotel staff, we chose to eat at Thunder Burger. We were seated right away. The space available for dining is deceiving from the outside - it is very spacious. We were seated in the back room, very unique decor, but cozy Our waiter came right away to take our drink order - it seemed that they were out of the local beers that we wanted, so we took another, which was delicious, but one that we usually order at home. He also recommended their choice of meat - they are known for their bison and elk burgers, but we chose beef, and my daughter chose vegetarian chili. I liked the fact that I could choose as many veggie toppings as I wanted (cheese was extra). Everyone's meal was delicious and done to perfection - very fresh. Once we finished eating, however, we had to wait a long time to get our check. Despite this, we would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happywanderers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High end College grub”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Service was very attentive and menu has good variety. Beer selection is great, enjoyed a Monty Python tribute ale. Burgers are excellent and there are many creative toppings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkerw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty Gourmet Burgers in Georgetown”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

With a massive selection of beers to a wide variety of meats, Thunderburger rarely disappoints. I live in DC and this is one of the places my boyfriend and I frequent. Their turkey burger named "Learning to Fly" is absolutely fantastic. Even if you don't like ground turkey, this thing pleases everyone I give a bite to... even my hardcore red meat loving friends... avocado, apples and an amazing semi sweet sauce... it is out of this world. We have gotten a ton of other items... call outs are elk burger, buffalo. If you get fries ask for the ginger aioli to dip them in... you won't be disappointed. There chili is pretty good too... the only thing that stinks is their bloody Mary's. Even tho they claim to make the mix themselves... it was pretty weak and runny. All in all... if you're craving a burger in Georgetown... give Thunder Burger a try. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank fsubran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunder Burger & Bar also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thunder Burger & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing