We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in 2013 it was awful. Dirty, loud, parties in the room next door. This year service seemed to have greatly improved. The maid service did a great job. The front desk staff were much nicer. In fact Teemon even helped me put a bandaid on my heel, that is above and beyond.
Location will be great eventually, once all the construction wraps up. Getting cabs was difficult, and the guy there offering rides was overpriced. But the metro was so close by it more than made up for it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    417
    133
    56
    39
See reviews for
372
213
78
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
305 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The actual hotel is fine, with nice rooms, a nice workout facility and small pool. Excellent beds--a great night's sleep. The public spaces are small but adequate; not always as clean as they could be. Breakfast was a real plus with a nice buffet and custom omelets.
Here's the weird part. The hotel is in a section of town that is obviously being redeveloped. There are lots of new buildings popping up all around--either under construction or just opened (at least it looks that way); there is very little pedestrian or street traffic. Our room looked out on some office buildings that looked all but deserted. Sort of post-apocolyptical. None of the vibrancy found in other neighborhoods; the walk to the convention center is sketchy. My guess is that in a few years the area will be hopping, but for now...strange.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after. 13 hr drive from Florida in mid February. We were all very tired.

Had great Ethiopian meal a few blocks away.

Valet parked our car. We left all our stuff (suitcases, kids iPods, beats headphones) in it and nothing was stolen overnight. I know that's generally a bad idea in DC, but nothing happened. 5 stars to the valet guy for putting it in a good spot.

The room was clean, and the beds were very comfy for 2 adults 2 kids and a baby.

Staff was very friendly with our kids.

Kids asked lots of questions about DC, so we'll be back for a weekend trip in a few months.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scienceguy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's a new hotel, room is very nice, the hotel is as well. The staff is great, from the moment you walk in to when you leave, they friendly, helpful and sincere. My sense is that they gave pride in the hotel and want it to be successful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear vimapo,

Thank you for your short but sweet review. I delighted to see that you found us friendly and helpful. We do take pride in our service, and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in DC soon!

Warm regards,


David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del.russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I and 9 other chaperones stayed here with 130 kids. I had accidentally eaten a substantial quantity of milk at dinner, and I am allergic. By 2:30 am I could not stand or think clearly. Latoya sent up Gatorade and water almost before I had hung up the phone. She waited until I was ready, and arranged for a round trip taxi to a 24-hour drugstore. By Breakfast time I was better, but disappointed to discover that one could not avoid milk except by eating fruit. Within about five minutes, Chris had run down to the local grocery and picked me up a half gallon of soymilk. Gratis. Great nurturing staff, and clean room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank favrettim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear favrettim,

I am so glad to hear we were able to take care of you in such a dire situation.We genuinely care about our guests in every way and it's nice to hear that we were successful at really showing this. We would gladly do this for any guest in a related situation! Thank you very much for sharing your story and we really hope to see you again soon!

Anthony McKitrick
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Business trip - central location - restaurants closeby within walking distance and the price was not bad ... YES, I will stay at this hotel in the future Room was cleaned everyday - toiletries were refreshed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I arranged for my parents to stay here during a weekend visit. First night, fine. Second night? A herd of drunkards kept them up for hours. Police weren't called until the early morning The hotel comped the second night, but my parents got zero sleep. After checkout, they left their car in the 'secure' valet parking (cameras at every entrance/exit, fob access only) with their personal belongings locked in the trunk. You know where this is going... they got their car back, but not all of their belongings. It wasn't a break in, so it was someone with access to the keys. Four days later, and niether the hotel management or valet company have bothered to check the survaillance footage. Why? Well, according to the hotel's assistant general manager, the cameras don't actually cover the elevators OR the room where the valet keys are kept. And he wasn't aware that the garage exits have cameras until I told him.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. But if that's not an option, request a north- or south-facing room. West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Alicia B,
I am very sorry that your parents’ stay was anything less than wonderful. I know that the valet parking company has been in touch with you. Please know that we take every Trip Advisor review very seriously, and will use your feedback to improve our service in the future. My contact information is below. I sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to restore your faith in our hotel. Please contact me directly the next time you need a room in DC so that I may personally handle your arrangements.

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del.russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing