We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reliable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #77 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Convenient and reliable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times, and enjoy the friendly staff and convenient location. The staff always remembers me from previous stays. The Metro light rail system is just a five minute walk away, and there are numerous restaurants and an enormous has-it-all supermarket a minute's walk down the street. Lovely big peaceful rooms which appear to stay new somehow, with all the usual Garden Inn amenities and comfortable beds. Good bathroom and very quiet overall at night. The huge Amtrak Union Station is about a mile down the street. Well priced for the location.
I had a problem with a broken platform bed this stay, but the manager compensated me for this problem adequately and fairly. Otherwise, this property consistently delivers a reliable, comfortable, clean and welcoming stay time after time. One of my DC favorites.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewWorld2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    424
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
379
215
79
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is a bit out of the mainstream in terms of location, but it is very conveniently located to the train, so getting around DC was a breeze. The hotel was clean, the bar/restaurant was inviting, and the rooms were nicely furnished, including refrigerators and safes. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived around noon and they allowed us to check in early.1 block to metro station. Easy 10 min walk to Union Station. Grocery store right next door and Starbucks right across the street. Kids loved the pool and hot tub.

Helpful?
1 Thank haynesj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We've only stayed one single night at the "Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol", and we really liked it: Well-sized, clean rooms. Quick walk from Union Station (around 10 blocks).
People at front desk should be more likeable. We arrived way too early at the hotel (at 7 AM to be more specific; we'd just gotten down from the train at that time). We showed up only with the intention to find somewhere to keep our luggage safe, and the receptionist ended up giving us this 2-bed bedroom (something we were cool about); however, her manners were quite rude.
In terms of location, as mentioned above, it's a quick walk from Union Station and US Capitol; however, there isn't much around (one supermarket on the corner, as well as a pharmacy, among other few ones).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagoneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I received first hand gold service at this hotel from the front desk to the guy that opened the door I would stay here again if I come to DC. The hotel was located in a great location near the subway and all the attraction of DC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 941donnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND,OR
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

For those that have routine travel to D.C., you will immediately groan at pricing and service. Road warriors, listen up. Have I got a tip for you. Try the Garden Inn in NoMa, that newly developed area north of the Capitol where ten years ago you wouldn't drive thru much less image staying in a hotel. This area has been transformed and access to D.C. is just fabulous.

Then add the Hilton Garden Inn and you have a true value.

This is not your typical mid-level staffing...these guys know service with a smile. Everyone from the wonderful front desk lady from Jamaica, to the late nite valet who was super helpful with our luggage, to the service staff at the restaurant...the training is obviously excellent. Fast elevators, excellent furnishings, and housekeeping is superb.

After the slog of airlines travel and terrible cab service, coming to this location was an island of calm I could afford and enjoy. There is a Metro stop around the corner and I-395 is adjacent making it a dream if you have a car.

Give this location a try, save some serious cash and have a stay worthy of a return...they earned my business, long-term.

Room Tip: If you like a sunny wake-up, get a south facing room on floors 9 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAXFLITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear MAXFLITE,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. You summed us up quite nicely. NoMa is actually the fastest growing neighborhood in DC, and we are very happy to be a shiny new part of that growth. It sounds like you had the pleasure of meeting Latoya on our staff…. She is one of our best. Rest assured, we read every Trip Advisor with our team, and we will be sure to share your kind remarks.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del. russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know why we tried a Hilton hotel again after or last awful Hilton experience. We paid extra for early check in and a special package. We received NONE of what we paid for. Only attitude from the front desk and excuses as to why they couldn't accommodate us. If we weren't so close to the time we had to be somewhere else we would have switched hotels again, like we had to in San Diego.

So why am I still sitting in the lobby only a few minutes from "normal" check in time.

Will never stay in a Hilton again recommend you don't either.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Phil S,

Ouch….sounds like we have provided a couple of unsatisfactory experiences recently. I am very sorry that an early check-in was not available and that we did not do a better job of offering some alternatives. My email address is below. If you wouldn’t mind contacting me directly, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to research this specific situation and hopefully restore your faith in Hilton.

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del. russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing