We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent HGI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent HGI”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I have literally traveled all over the world, travelling in the Air Force. But we have never experienced the high level of genuine customer serve that we received at the Hilton Garden Inn in Washington DC. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. My family and I will definitely stay there the next time we visit the DC area and will recommend this locations to other family members and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdthompso1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    432
    139
    57
    39
See reviews for
382
220
79
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is well located in proximity to Union Station and The Capitol building. Walgreens and Starbucks across the street. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and professional. Hotel was clean, quiet and very nice. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We enjoyed our night stay here on the 4th of July, 2014.

Our room was in perfect shape and nice and clean. We met the housekeeper going into our room and she was very nice and pleasant.

We liked how our room was laid out with bedside features like electrical plugs right where you needed them to charge you phone and keep it in easy reach. Everything in the room worked fine and it was nice having a refrigerator, microwave and even a keurig machine for great coffee. We received a great nights sleep and found our room to be very quiet.

The valet service worked great for us and they were all very courteous and attentive.

The entire staff that we met exceeded our needs and expectations and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoupleHarleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent 4 nights here... I was apprehensive at first, but much of our fears were dispelled! The staff were very approachable (especially Whitney) and my family had an absolute blast! Very child friendly and with easy access to the metro and well positioned to Union Station... definitely good value!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 02Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Although, this Hilton Garden Inn is conveniently located next to restaurants, the Metro (Red Line) and a few doors down from a grocery store, the parking fee is super expensive (over $30 a night) and the restaurant is pricey as well. Would be nice if there was a complimentary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Mocha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here recently. We arrived Friday evening, front desk staff were very helpful, Valet parking staff were helpful, courteous and efficient. Beds were comfortable. All 3 mornings the breakfast was disappointing. There's a restaurant on site but they only offered buffet at $16 + tax per person (no a la carte) which included a few pastries,some cereal,only 3 fruit choices (pineapple, 2 melon) and precooked packaged bacon.The server cooking our omelettes didn't get either right; I only asked for 1 ingredient and got 2. We looked for somewhere nearby outside the hotel for breakfast but everywhere was closed. We went out at 8am Sat. returning at 10pm to find no maid service- garbages overflowing, no clean towels,no coffee, sugar, creamer,stir sticks,no straightened beds. Called the hotel desk,they sent a staff person with 3 bath towels,4 bath mats,5 hand towels, multiple coffee,sugar,creamer. Sunday we left at 9am returning at 5pm. The maid had only done garbages, straightened beds-nothing else. So we had to use bath mats and hand towels after bathing and improvise stir sticks. No one checked with us to see if we had received maid service. We checked out the next morning and they credited us with one nights parking fee for our trouble. Overall, we expected better from this hotel. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargeryBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is REALLY great! The staff is really friendly and helpful. I was telling one of the guys at the front desk that I had just had a horrific ride on the metro for hours and he just gave me the bottle of water I was trying to buy from him. Bathrooms are large and the room itself was large enough for 3 people to stay for 5 full days. It's also very, very clean.

Pool is small, but the gym is definitely adequate, especially for just a few days. The restaurant is pretty good but overpriced in my opinion. The valet or front desk will always help you get a cab, but 9/10 times there's one literally waiting out front which was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing