We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, beautiful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #82 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wailuku, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property, beautiful staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is located a few blocks from Union Station and on the same block as a Metro stop. Super convenient location, the rooms are very nice, very clean. The daily service was wonderful and the hotel staff were so helpful in every situation. I had my cab taken by other people twice one morning and the staff were so helpful getting me another one both times. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gem G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Stacey M,
I am thrilled to have read your comments and to have heard how happy you were with the cleanliness, comfort and staff service. Having you definitely recommend this hotel to others is the icing on the cake. I have passed along your comments to the TEAM and we look forward to your return visit to Our Nations' Capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    445
    146
    59
    41
See reviews for
397
225
81
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hagatna, Guam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Its so helpful to have an affordable hotel in the city that is so close to everything. The metro is right around the corner. Harris Teeter is right next door along with several great restaurants too. They have a self-serve laundry room too opposite the pool so you can load your stuff to wash and soak in the hot-tub or cool off in the pool

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I dont like to write reviews on service, but I couldnt help but do so. My experience here would have been phenomenal had I not been charged twice and had no resolution, had my room not been dirty, and my wife wasnt blatantly ignored at checkout while she stood there with our newborn while several other professionals were served before her. Did they think she was standing in line to hold a place for every other person checking out that day? I think this hotel does a superior job catering to those who are "HHonors" members or those that have a decent size bank roll. I guess instead of buying the basic room, I should purchased a luxury suite and maybe the service and treatment would have been better. I felt like my family was treated like 2nd class citizens, and we still are to this very moment given the fact our issues still remain unresolved. Its coming on close to 2 weeks since we were there and I have still been ignored. I was even willing to let the lack of cleanliness be a non issue, until dozens of other issues followed suit. A simple family trip to D.C. for our newborn and my wives birthday turned into added stress. Thanks for the stress and hassle because it was superior.

Room Tip: Further away from the city, the more pleasant your stay will be. A lot of "pompous" employ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days including the 4th of July. Booked hotel in error and after reading reviews was a bit worried. However thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Without being asked we were switched to another room away from the night club across the road. Staff were very friendly and room was clean and tidy. Nothing was too much bother for the staff. Good location for Metro. Harris Teeter next door is a real bonus. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room was clean and moderately comfortable, however, very noisy. People next door kept trying to unlock the connecting door and knocking at inordinate moments. The food could also stand with some improvement. Although the chef is touted as award winning, I haven't had one tasty meal there and ate 3 meals. More or less an uneventful but boring stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shamita Das D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The rooms are updated and clean. The staff tries to be helpful. The lobby is cramped, and smells like pool water. The location is not easily walkable to sights, but Metro is right around the corner. There is a nearby grocery, and a few inexpensive eataries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Torie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I have literally traveled all over the world, travelling in the Air Force. But we have never experienced the high level of genuine customer serve that we received at the Hilton Garden Inn in Washington DC. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. My family and I will definitely stay there the next time we visit the DC area and will recommend this locations to other family members and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdthompso1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
274 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing