We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in upscaling neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place in upscaling neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I spend many nights in DC hotels and decided to try this one, as I had never been in the neighborhood before and had never seen it. I was pleasantly surprised by both the hotel and the neighborhood. My room was comfortable and clean as I would expect from a HGI hotel and the front desk was warm and welcoming. The neighborhood was surprisingly nice and active, with a large Harris Teeter downstairs, a Starbucks across the street, and a short walk from Union Station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJSJr1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    417
    133
    56
    39
See reviews for
372
213
78
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location is good. What's more, the hotel staff has excellent skills of knowing how to excellently service guests. Plus, there is a Metron station nearby. It takes around 5 minute walking. It can take you to almost everywhere in town. I highly recomand this hotel. -WENG HSIUNG JEAN

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
4 Thank Weng Hsiung J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great value for DC. Everybody was very friendly and helpfull. Great location- very quiet - less than 5 minutes walk from the metro. Grocery store right down the street is also a nice plus when traveling with children. Loved the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel staff was courteous, friendly and efficient. The restaurant was decent, but the food left me on the bathroom floor one night. Accommodations are clean/comfortable/good. Ambient noise from the street / club, however, made sleep impossible. If you are a night owl, this hotel may be for you. For night sleepers, avoid at all costs. And bring alka seltzer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank X2715PUannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our second stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient - easy to walk, grab a cab or the subway. Only downside is that the beds are not comfortable - they are lumpy and creaky. Thought this the first time we stayed here two years ago, forgot about it until we arrived again in June. Nice restaurant in the hotel, yet it is steps away from a Harris Teeter grocery store with all kinds of take out food and beverages available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewHampshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I found the front desk team to be friendly and very helpful coming off a day of travel. It is a nice and clean hotel. I enjoyed the breakfast which was good start to the day and again staffed with great professionals. Good job Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is located a few blocks from Union Station and on the same block as a Metro stop. Super convenient location, the rooms are very nice, very clean. The daily service was wonderful and the hotel staff were so helpful in every situation. I had my cab taken by other people twice one morning and the staff were so helpful getting me another one both times. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gem G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Stacey M,
I am thrilled to have read your comments and to have heard how happy you were with the cleanliness, comfort and staff service. Having you definitely recommend this hotel to others is the icing on the cake. I have passed along your comments to the TEAM and we look forward to your return visit to Our Nations' Capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing